1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what screen for the AE500?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by dan_wade, Jan 25, 2004.

1. dan_wade

dan_wade

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just bought the Panasonic ae500. I was just looking for advice about what screen i should get. This is my first projector, so im still a little new to things.

I remember some time ago, i heard on here that since LCD still have problems achieving good blacks, it was a good idea to buy a grey screen instead of white, to get better blacks? There was also the case about ambient light in the room, bouncing off the walls, which would intern lower the full contrast of the projector. I didn't think that this would be be such an issue, but the projector does indeed seems to light be pitch black room up quite alot. Are their actualy screens that allow less boucne off the screen?

My video is coming from the HK 2550 through component.

Dont get me wrong. Im really chuffed with the 500 model, the colours and blacks are really good, i was just curious about what other AE300/500/Sanzo Z2 owners have been doing about screens.

Cheers,
    Dan.

2. kvanlier

kvanlier

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am curious too..as I have a AE500 and I want to make sure I am buying the right screen.

greets,

Kris.

3. explicitlyrics

explicitlyrics

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    take a look in the screen section of these forums, they advised me very simply to try and use a blackout blind for started and then if not happy get a proper screen as a blind can only cost you £40 or something from argos or john lewis... As for light bouncing it didnt bother me on my mates one, mind you it wasnt set up properly so i couldnt tell the difference anyway

4. itolson1

itolson1
    Banned

Products Owned: