What;s the Prologic II...

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by tan1415, Jul 3, 2001.

  1. tan1415

    tan1415
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I am helping someone buying a HC set.
    With max GBP350 what's the best amp out there.

    Also can you explain what the Dolby Prologic 2 is and what's the difference between it and for example the normal DPL or DTS and DD.


    Thanks
     
  2. d_raux

    d_raux
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    The difference is simple

    Dolby pro logic 2 tries to "extract" all the audio information needed to create a 5.1 sound from a stereo analogue source (worst case).

    DTS and Dolby Digital are digital audio formats used on DVDs that already contain the 5.1 channels information.

    DPLII is a way to simulate this kind of 5.1 sound from a 2 channels audio source such as a CD / TV / radio or whatever

    David

    PS : Sorry if my english is not perfect !
     
  3. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :(
    sounds like Pro Logic II would be a bit of a waste of time in a home cinema environment?

    however i'd like to hear it in action before passing judgement ;)

    anyone out there heard it in action on a stereo source?

    [ 03-07-2001: Message edited by: The Torch ]
     
  4. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    DPL II is worth getting because it is much better than standard DPL (unless you have DTS NEO).


    Rick
     
  5. Jim Robson

    Jim Robson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Originally from the wonderful Granite City, Aberde
    Ratings:
    +1
    ..............but still regarded as important enough for Denon to (hopefully, please!) include it as an upgrade for the Denon AVC-A1SE later this summer! Word on the 'street' is that it's even better than DTS-Neo!

    Regards

    Jim :D
     
  6. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Jim: I spoke to Roger on monday. He said the DPL II is due for the end of the summer, though cannot confirm when exactly, and more Denon DPL II products are expected before the end of the year.

    He reckoned that there isn't a huge difference between DPl II and DTS NEO, not as big as DTS NEO/DPL II and old DPL.

    Rick
     
  7. Jim Robson

    Jim Robson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Originally from the wonderful Granite City, Aberde
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Rick!

    Knowing me, I'll get the upgrade and notice no difference compared to DTS-Neo which can be rather good! It is something for me to look forward to, though! I wonder why it's taking so long to decide how this upgrade will be performed? I hope I don't have to send the thing away!!! PLEASE let it be a CD-ROM with a price tag of about £35 just like Onkyo have done with their amps.

    Regards

    Jim :D
     
  8. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    14,749
    Products Owned:
    7
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +10,635
    Newbies, please check out the FAQ easily available at all the sites using this BB, and regulars please refer newbies to the FAQ. That's what it's there for :)
     
  9. Jim Robson

    Jim Robson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Originally from the wonderful Granite City, Aberde
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Spectre!

    Two thoughts spring to mind immediately
    (a) The FAQ is not that easy to find and
    (b) Where is there a mention of DPLII in the FAQ or have I missed it?

    Regards

    Jim :D
     
  10. calibos

    calibos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +33
    Torch,

    Why do you say DPLII would be
    ?

    It is a new version of Pro-Logic which gives a more DD 5.1 like sound from your stereo sources such as Terrestrial TV, Satellite TV, Cable TV, VHS video. From what I've heard, the rears are now full range stereo rather than the original DPL's limited frequency mono and the sound effects steering is much improved. I know its still not a patch on DD 5.1 but it improves the viewing experience of the sources other than DVD. Until(if ever)the digital TV companies (ie Sky Digital, OnDigital, NTL etc)decide to provide DD 5.1, its better than what we had.

    I don't know about you but home-cinema for me is not just about watching dvd's.
     
  11. MarkB

    MarkB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Messages:
    737
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Suffolk, England
    Ratings:
    +26
    Jim,
    I'm hoping that the delay in providing DPLII to our A1SE is because Denon are including the 24bit/96khz dts upgrade as well, and also addressing a few issues with the menu system (like adding the ability to see an on-screen display of the volume db!).
    Mark B
     
  12. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,787
    I have new Onkyo Ts 595 receiver with DLP II

    There is definitely better separation watching Sky Digital. However, I can't really do a valid comparison as previously I was using just my Philips DLP I as a sound source.

    But I can say it sounds great! But that is probably as much to do with the Onkyo and Kef2005s than the move to DLP II.

    There are separate DLP II Movie and Music modes, and the Music mode is surprisingly effective. Even though completely simulated it is not nearly as bad as some pseudo surround effects (concert hall type things) I have heard before. Good on MTV for example.
     
  13. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    14,749
    Products Owned:
    7
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +10,635
    Jim, the FAQ is easily found by going to the articles/features section of Total DVD, HCC or What Video & TV websites. Or open any link in the BB up in a new window. A FAQ search is at the top of the new menu window on the left.
    Then do a search for 'prologic II'.
     
  14. Jim Robson

    Jim Robson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Originally from the wonderful Granite City, Aberde
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Spectre!

    I "searched for FAQ items containing the text prologic 11, found : 0." What did I do wrong? When I searched using a copy and paste of your exact instructions i.e. 'prologic II' it worked OK and there were two results. That's why I couldn't find it!! Can you spot the difference? It's in the 11's and II's.

    I still maintain that the FAQ's are difficult to find for a novice who just looks at the remote control thing and doesn't see them mentioned. They are hidden behind "Articles" as you said. Once found there are excellent, comprehensive articles to be read.

    Regards

    Jim :D

    [ 04-07-2001: Message edited by: Jim Robson ]
     
  15. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are just too many sections of the sites to list them all in the remote menu.
    Perhaps a javascript & layers drop-down menu might help...
     
  16. Jim Robson

    Jim Robson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Originally from the wonderful Granite City, Aberde
    Ratings:
    +1
    Wow! The first thing I noticed when I logged on today was the new FAQ "javascript & layers drop-down menu" at the top of the BB. Congratulations guyz! It's there for all to see now!

    Regards and a big thank you!

    Jim :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice