1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What RP Tosh to get?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by solo21, Dec 14, 2003.

1. solo21

solo21

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I'm a newbie to the world of TV's, but I'm looking to upgrade. I've currently got a standard Panasonic tv - but I want a bigger, widescreen model to go in my living room.

I've been tempted by all of the Tosh RP deals that are floating around at the moment. I've got a budget of ~£1000; which one would be best for me?

I'm looking at a 42"w, but other than that I'm not sure. I'll be using it for DVD's and Sky+ - do I need 100hz and/or progressive scan? Are the new 'WH' models significantly improved over the older (cheaper) PW models?

I'm likely to get it from www.rgbdirect.co.uk (the shop's local to me), and am currently thinking either the 42PW23P at £875 or the 42WH36P at £1064.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

2. Gillious

Gillious
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Personally speaking I love my 42pw23 and for the price it's an amazing TV. I decided against the 42wh36 because at the time it was £350 more. Also I don't like how sky+ looks on 100hz sets.

However the progressive scan is definitely good to have, but not essential.

I play plenty of NTSC DVD's and the interlaced image has never bothered me. I'm sure being 8ft away from the set helps in this regard.

3. solo21

solo21

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info!

Can you make use of progressive scan on 50hz mode? I've heard several people now mention that Sky+ doesn't look good on 100hz.

4. Gillious

Gillious
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0