1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Route Or Choice For Upgrade?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Garrett, Oct 1, 2003.

  1. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,198
    At present I have a Yamaha DSP-E580 processor used in conjunction with a Audiolab 8000 and XP8000 which I use for music.
    So I was originally hoping Yamaha would be upgrading their stand alone 800 processor but alas they do not seem to be doing that. So I will have to get a AV Amp (but will not use for the front two speakers).

    Is it worth spending a lot of money if I’m not going to use the front 2 stereo speakers?

    As I-link technology is just coming out is it worth hanging on an other year till all amps have it as the only one that I know have it are the Pioneer AX5 and the AX10 (silver only).

    If I spend over £500 I will probably not change it for anything better for 10 years.
     
  2. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Difficult to upgrade from the Yamaha E800 (I didn't want a AV amp for the remaining channels)- I was in a similar situation (E492)- looking at the DC-2 at the time- whopping £3800 asking price.

    What are your centre/rear speakers? High-end/difficult to drive?


    I would defo keep the Audiolab for left/right duties (have you considering changing the 8000A to the 8000S?- big improvement from the A to the S, plus useful Pre-power switch)

    [whoops] read that you've got the E800 for some reason! :D but you've got the 580.
     
  3. Mogli

    Mogli
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +124
    So did i... spooky!
     
  4. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,198
    I do not think the Yamaha 800 has all the surround systems on such as Pro-Logic II and I think it is about 4 years old.
     
  5. NinjaKi11a

    NinjaKi11a
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is exactly what I am wondering.

    I'd also be interested to know if there would be any problems running the front stereo and the other speakers from different amps - especially my beefy Nad C370.
     
  6. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,198
    Don’t say I have stumped you Nathan!:D
     
  7. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. If you want the latest, buy a Lexicon MC-12B and a Krell Reference monobloc. 10 of them, bi-amp front three, the other four for the remaining channels. Job done! :rotfl:

    [edit] if you need a phono pre-amp (since the 8000S lacks one) surely a off-board phono box is much better than that of the 8000A?
     
  8. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,198
    Is that in silver or black.:laugh:

    Know of any cheap good/reasonable off-board phono box’s?
     
  9. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Audiolab 8000PPA (£1000, can be bought £500), Tag version, Rega, Pink (excellent), Project £60, Nad £50, Linn.

    If you read up on phono stage design, you'll know that innards of a integrated amp can interfere with the phono stage, so using a external box is affordable (and better) option. Why do you think the 8000S & 8000Q have no built-in stage? ;-)
     
  10. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,198
    So I take it you plug the record deck into the phono pre-amp then that say in to an auxiliary socket on the amp?

    Do they have therr own power supply?
     
  11. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Double yup.

    You can go daft on the external power supply if you want- if you're into hi-end gear that is. Or just use the supplied power supply.
     
  12. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,198
    Any ideas where to look for the Audiolab 8000S?
     
  13. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's two on the Tag site- £325 & £375. Asking a bit much though- I've seen a few for £250-£275 (maybe go upto £300 for a mint one). Make sure it's a "F" registration though (latest version) I believe the A, B and possibly the C were a bit unreliable. The D, E & F are fine.

    [edit] one more..

    http://www.audio-t.co.uk/html/offers/sh/sh_amps.html
     
  14. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,198
    Cheers:smashin:
     
  15. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh yeah when I bought some amps off a guy I took my 8000S around (he's owned the 8000A integrated, 8000C pre-amp, and 8000LX)

    He tried my 8000S, and definetly thought it sounded better than the A,C & LX. And that's when it was cold (didn't have the time to to warm up)

    PM me and I'll give you his email address, so you can ask him about the sound differences between the amps.
     
  16. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,198
    So what amp do you use now?
     
  17. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I still have my 8000S, using with a 8000SX- biamping the music speakers.

    The bloke just wanted to hear what the S is like. He bought one pretty quickly.. he did email me later that it was a big improvement (I don't think he likes the A, C or LX that much) dunno why...
     
  18. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    32,242
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,198
    I have asked a local dealer that take amps in for part exchange for new to let me know if he ever gets one in.
     

Share This Page

Loading...