1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What resolution will Blu-Ray discs output?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Rob20, Aug 11, 2004.

  1. Rob20

    Rob20
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,503
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +279
    I believe dvd's have 500 lines of info, (no idea as to the number of pixel info per line). But what will the screen resolution output of blu-ray discs be? Just interested as Im wondering whether the 1366 by 768 of my Toshiba lcd will be sufficient.
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,208
    When recording in High Res mode it will probably be 1080 x 768 although the video compression to be used has yet to be confirmed let alone the resolution.
     
  3. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,560
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Rob,

    I don't think anything less than 1920x1080p would be acceptable, although I'm sure you would then be able to select a lower output resolution your display could accept i.e 1366x768 LCDs or plasmas.

    Steve
     
  4. Rob20

    Rob20
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,503
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +279
    Is 1920 by 1080p, (at 60hz), the format for USA hi-def broadcasts?
     
  5. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,560
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Hi Rob,

    No it's not, they use 1080i60, although 1080p30 is one of the many different ATSC resolutions allowed.

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...