1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Res you running from HTPC? (42")

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Paul D, Nov 30, 2004.

  1. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    Hi
    Just helping a pal set up a Media (MCE2005) PC to his Panasonic SD 42" 6 series plasma.
    It's native resolution is 852x480, and we have setup his resolution @ 852x480 via a analogue VGA cable.
    This does look clear, but not much fits on normal windows screens, and certain windows cut off the image etc.

    We keep getting an annoying reminder each time windows boots that the resolution is set very low. Any idea how to stop this reminder? (or will it go away after so many boots etc?) EDIT: This message has gone after two boots etc.

    Or has anybody else found a more suitable resolution that offers better desk space without softening the image too much?

    Thanks for any help with this, as i have only ever dealt with the higher resolutions!
     
  2. dannichols

    dannichols
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    Cheers Dan :)
     
  4. jasonl

    jasonl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    try 1776x1000@30hz or 1280x720@60hz

    i havent tried it yet though but i have it in my "notes" as ive read it on some HTPC site somewhere, though it may not be ideal for PAL sources
     
  5. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    Thanks Jason, will give it a try. :)
     
  6. dannichols

    dannichols
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    fulabeer, how did you get on? My PW7 should arrive tomorrow and I want to get good results quickly (less time fiddlin' more time watchin' ).

    Dan. :D
     
  7. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    He's left it running 852x480 for now, and apart from the obvious problem of fitting items on the desk top it looks great.

    He has mentioned just changing to 800x600 when he needs to surf the web ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...