what remote

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by twiglet, Mar 2, 2005.

  1. twiglet

    twiglet
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have had a kam 6-1 (first gen) for about 1 year now and am becoing bored of it.i need to get something newer......... i have read about the harmony :thumbsup: remotes being good. ????


    i have just been on the web site and have seen the new colour screen version that is avaible in the states, i am going there soon i was wondering if it would work ok back here?????????????? please give me your views :thumbsup: :lease:
     
  2. GreenBars

    GreenBars
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +23
    It would work. There are a lot of people in the UK using US spec 659 remotes rather than the UK spec 655 - they are identical except for the UK models having the coloured teletext buttons. The only issue you may have, would be the battery charger that comes with the new colour screen Harmony - it will probably be designed for US voltage only (though it may have automatic voltage switching) - however a step-down transformer would be easy to get hold of.
     
  3. Ikki

    Ikki
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,175
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Location:
    Lancs
    Ratings:
    +96
    The H880 looks very interesting, I think that you could even program the display for the four colour buttons that are missing (it's being a US model).

    The question is when will it go on sale?
     
  4. Gadget Daddy

    Gadget Daddy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Stockton on Tees
    Ratings:
    +174
    So can the 659 operate the sme as the 655 as in the coloured key functions, only that they are not physically the colour??

    Pete
     
  5. Ikki

    Ikki
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,175
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Location:
    Lancs
    Ratings:
    +96
    Yes - you can make any button do anything (except a few special buttons like the activity buttons and off and help).

    It will need a bit more setup though, to get the configuration correct.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    the H800 is due to the UK soon i was talking about it with the harmony harmony guys in Bristol
     

Share This Page

Loading...