• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.
  • Black Friday Deals
    Visit our Black Friday page for our frequently updated, hand picked deals on TVs and other tech.

What receiver should I buy

vani5

Novice Member
Hello I am quite new to the Hi-Fi world and have purchased a pair of Cerwin-Vega XLS-215 and a CV-1800 amplifier however i want to hook up a receiver to my system but I don't know how and what i should buy. I would like to be able to hook up all my things to it and have the wireless connectivity to my phone and laptop and i plan to make the setup surround but not for a while. Could you please help me with what i should buy and how i should hook it up as i have the basic understandings but have no clue about pre-outs.

BlueWizard

Distinguished Member
Budget????

You have a lot of complex wants regardless of your budget. If you buy a good receiver, you don't necessarily need the CV-1800. It doesn't mean you can't use it, just that you wouldn't necessarily need it.

Next, how long until you go to Surround Sound? If it is more than 2 years, then I say get a Stereo now and when you are ready for Surround Sound, work that out when the time comes.

Here is a pretty nice Stereo Pre-Amp, that could make the heart of a pretty good system -

Rotel RX1570 Pre-Amp with DAC - £795 -

Rotel RC1570 Pre Amplifier

The DAC would make it easy to connect your TV for Movie watching, and the Amp does come with Bluetooth, though how good it is, I don't know. However, you can add the lastest Bluetooth to any amp for between £25 and £50, though the price can go much higher.

But for now, simply give us a budget, and we will make some recommendations. IF you get an AVR now, it will have to have Pre-Amp outputs.

Steve/bluewizard

vani5

Novice Member