1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What quality is VHS cassette for audio?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by Vipen, Aug 2, 2002.

  1. Vipen

    Vipen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    i want to record from my satellite receiver but it hasn't got any outs other than scart. so wondered if i could record onto VHS cassette (longer recording too) and then find a way of getting it onto cd from there.

    I think i remember being in a studio years ago where they used video cassettes for recording their sessions.

    any ideas?

    btw, i can't get this station on traditional radio where i live.
     
  2. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    HiFi sound isn't bad BUT most new decks have auto level only

    The vcrs in recording studio - did it look like this ?

    http://homepage.ntlworld.com/hamidk/sonyslf1.htm

    There was a PCMF1 adaptor which was used to record at CD quality on a Beta tape.

    So for now just make sure you have manual level control!
     
  3. Vipen

    Vipen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    well it looked similar but can't honestly remember. sure it was normal video recorder. it was a long time ago.

    have to give it a go and see the results tonight.

    cheers
     
  4. CJROSS

    CJROSS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    5,072
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +343
    I tape loads of stuff off my Nicam VCR Vipen onto Minidisc, via 2 phono leads from my VCR (it has audio outputs) all I have to do is set the analogue recording level to the correct level. I dont think recording to a CD-R hifi deck should be any different. But you will need to use a Nicam VCR to get 44.1 sound quality.

    HTHs
     
  5. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    You only need NICAM for recording off analogue terrestrial, any HiFi stereo VCR will do for recording off a sat box!

    I record off DTTV using an old Ondigital box and a Sanyo HiFi vcr with a mono PAL tuner - it works fine!
     
  6. Nick Odgers

    Nick Odgers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    I have used an old Akai Hi fi video recorder for past 5 years for recording Bob Harris and other shows from radio. It has manual gain and phono inputs and outputs, and sounds excellent with no hiss that you get with cassettes. I would look around for an old model and get video head changed if needed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...