1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What qualify's as a High Definition TV

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Ash007, Sep 21, 2004.

  1. Ash007

    Ash007
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochdale
    Ratings:
    +0
    What qualify's as a High Definition TV. I was thinking of getting a Sony KE-42MR1 plasma screen. It doesn't specify hdtv although it does have component inputs and 1024x768 Pixels. Can all Plasma's take hdtv as they usually have at least 1024x768 Pixels?

    Ash
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,590
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    Hi Ash,

    HDTV resolutions are defined as 720p, 1080i and 1080p - the Sony should be able to accept 720p and 1080i at least. Most plasmas should accept HDTV signals, which would then be scaled to fit the panel's native resolution. Hope this helps.

    Steve
     
  3. beeblebrox12

    beeblebrox12
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My personal advice: if you are informed enough to ask this question, this plasma ain't for you. Buy a real HDTV set - i.e at least 1280x720 native resolution.
     
  4. Ash007

    Ash007
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochdale
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can get this Plasma for a bargain price. Is it still not worth gettin for £1500. Half the usual price. Is HDTV going to happen soon, or could it be years away. Won't this tv still work with HDTV anyway?
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
    I would suggest that before actually purchasing the thing you confirm with Sony that it will accept and display the current resolutions and refresh rates for HD as well as those we may get here, ie 720@50Hz...1080i@50Hz and also that it will do so using the signal format you want to use....ie RGBHV, YPrPb, DVI, HDMI..... Just because it has lots of pixels doesn't mean to say it will.

    Gordon
     
  6. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Very sound advice, there are going to be a lot of :censored: off people who think their sets will show HD when Sky start squirting it out. Best ask very direct questions now of the manufacturer in writing (e-mail) preferably.....
     
  7. G Canavan

    G Canavan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Jarrow Tyne and Wear
    Ratings:
    +2
    Still £1500 quid for a plasma isn't to be sniffed at, by the time HDTV becomes the norm you can just upgrade.
     
  8. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    I'd ask why it is £1500..........There will be a catch....... :lesson:
     

Share This Page

Loading...