What PVR should we buy?

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by bryant_andy, Feb 2, 2009.

Tags:
  1. bryant_andy

    bryant_andy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I currently have a Humax 9150T that we are having problems with freezing. As I can have a refund I have been looking at a replacement PVR.

    I would like to have a twin tuner that can record 2 programs at the same time.

    Is there a good PVR that we should look at?

    Thanks

    Andy
     
  2. ched

    ched
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Sunny Blackpool
    Ratings:
    +110
    I assume that your aerial signal is good? I think you can check in the System menu. If aerial signal is good sounds like you have been unlucky and have a faulty box. The Humax's boxes have a good reputation normally, so if you like the functionality of the 9150 (like the ability to record 2 channels and watch a third live channel, ok so not any channel) and the guide display I would say give another 9150 a try. You dont really have anything to loose and if that one has the same problem then its probably your aerial. If new one works then you have a good box. :)
     
  3. bryant_andy

    bryant_andy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like a plan as until last week it was working perfectly. And every other TV/set top box and even the Sharp PVR are all working perfectly.

    Thanks
     
  4. Already Taken

    Already Taken
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +10
    There seems to have been a problem with a lot of Humax boxes over the last week.

    hmux keeps freezing!! - Hummy.org.uk Forums has more information.

    It may be this that's been the cause of your problems
     
  5. bryant_andy

    bryant_andy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Alex.

    I will try our box again to see if it is now OK.

    Regards

    Andy
     
  6. bryant_andy

    bryant_andy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried resetting box to default settings and retuning the channels, but it is still freezing :rolleyes:

    It appears that channels on Mux2 are having the problem.

    We are on the Guildford transmitter.
     
  7. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +296
    Mux 2 is always the worst multiplex for signal strength. It's also the first to fail if your aerial signal strength is marginal, when the weather deteriorates. Try fitting a TV booster to the aerial cable. Maybe you need a new aerial.

    Freeview Reception Help and Advice
     
  8. bryant_andy

    bryant_andy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That would make sense if the other Freeview boxes/TV's/PVRs in the house were effected, but they are all perfect! And our LG TV is after the PVR on the coax cable and that is also perfect.

    And up untill the weekend the 9150 was OK as well.

    I have since spoken to Humax and they gave instructions like the others I have seen about resetting to default settings etc but this has not helped at all. They suggested getting the box swapped. So I will try this.

    I wish I had stuck with the Sharp PVR!
     
  9. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +296
    I suppose the 9150 could be faulty. I don't have this model just two 9200T machines one connected to a 28" LG CRT TV and the other is connected to a Sony 37" Bravia TV. Both give me trouble on Mux 2 when the weather is bad (i.e. heavy rain, wind, snow), but my line of sight to the Winter Hill transmitter is obstructed.

    The 9200T has the option to allow for a powered aerial and this can be set to either On or Off in the setup menu. Presumably this attenuates some of the signal for a powered aerial. Is the 9150 the same - if so, and you do not have an amplified power aerial is the option set to OFF?
     
  10. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +296
  11. bryant_andy

    bryant_andy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    9150 has been replaced with a 9300. I carried out a software update to sort the fan noise and then connected it up to TV etc and there is no more freezing :thumbsup:
     
  12. ched

    ched
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Sunny Blackpool
    Ratings:
    +110
    Glad to hear you got it sorted. Happy viewing.
     
  13. brian hiker

    brian hiker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i currently have a bt vision box which is quiet & free
    i wanted another but cant run 2
    so i tried a humax 9150 from argos which went back as too noisy !
    bought sagem from asda for about £90 & thought it was noisy too - BUT - fan or hdd noise only lasts for 5 minutes on startup !!!!!!!!!!
    NO NOISE IN STANDBY/RECORD OR PLAYBACK !!!
    BRILLIANT
    CHECKOUT RICABILITY WEBSITE FOR LOADS OF GEN
     

Share This Page

Loading...