What power block?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by anticlaus105, Nov 6, 2005.

  1. anticlaus105

    anticlaus105
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +181
    Need to connect 436xde, media box, sky+, 3806, 3910, PV1 sub.

    What would be a decent mains block that filters power and protects against power surges.

    Is it really necessary to have one and does it make any difference to sound/picture quality?

    Cheers in advance.
     
  2. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
  3. paulst10

    paulst10
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,872
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,309
  4. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
    not seen that one before, what did it improve that you had probs with?
     
  5. paulst10

    paulst10
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,872
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,309
    didnt have problems with anything, i read a review of it and they really rated it, rang the manufacturer and they said if i thought it didnt make an improvent i could send it back with a full refund, so i thought go for it!

    picture wise ... colours are more vivid, contrast slightly better, blacker blacks

    sound wise ... bass seemed to have a bit more weight, midrange and treble were slightly more clearer

    that got me on mains road, after i bought russ andrews classics and merlin tarantulas which made more improvents ( over a year ago, if someone had told me that a cleaner power supply improves your system i would have laughed ) now i have a proper mains cable for everything in my rack :smashin:
     
  6. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
    cheers mate, interesting
     
  7. anticlaus105

    anticlaus105
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +181
  8. paulst10

    paulst10
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,872
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,309
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    We've got the best regulated mains supply in the world here, even surge protection is a bit of a racket, but as it's not an expensive racket, better safe than sorry. B&Q do a range of mains boards now I see, wonder if they are any good?
    We've got measuring equipment here, my biz partner being an electrical engineer, I dare to demo with no mains gear barring anti surge, nobody has commented on my poor mains supply causing problems, and we can't measure anything either. Nice 240V AC sine wave in and out thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...