1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what pixel resolution is needed for HD television?

Discussion in 'TVs' started by shoestring25, Nov 28, 2004.

  1. shoestring25

    shoestring25
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,339
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +209
    i am thinking of getting a Sony KF42SX300 but i am unsure as to its readyness for HD television.

    if not this tele if i brought a different tele what sort pixel resolution should i be looking for?
     
  2. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi- Def can be either 1280x720 or 1920x1080

    That said a display can be said to be Hi-Def ready if it will accept those signals & scale them to it's native resolution whatever it may be. But 1:1 mapping would require either of the above matching a source of the same res of course.
     
  3. Koing

    Koing
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    DO NOT BUY IN TO THE HDTV 'READY' thing on from ANY manufacture.

    MOST will down convert to it's native resolution of the screen. A lot of people say downconverted images look better on it then it's native.

    BUT to 'truely' see HDTV you will need 1280x720 or 1920x1080 pixels at least.

    Koing
     
  4. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,590
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    miller25,

    I'm afraid that set is not suitable for HDTV, due to the fact it doesn't have an HDMI or DVI-HDCP input. Shame on Sony. :suicide:

    Steve
     
  5. Master Rahl

    Master Rahl
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    *frown* My TV supports 1080i and I use component cables, none of that fancy ones you mentioned.
     
  6. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    From the content of other threads on here it seems that Sky may be going down the "copy protected" HDMI / HDCP route for HD in the UK (at least on some material) - which may mean analogue component inputs aren't suitable?
     
  7. Rob20

    Rob20
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,619
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +354
    Personally (unless your loaded and can buy a new set every 2/3 years) I wouldn't buy a hi-def panel untill it has a minimum resolution of 1920 by 1080p and at least 2, possibly 3 hdmi inputs. Otherwise you could face a costly upgrade when all lcd's/plama's are eventually 1920 by 1080p and you have Sky digital, Blu-Ray and possibly PS3 or XBox 2. You'll also save a fortune what with prices coming down. Plus plasma/lcd displays are still yet to match crts. If you have a decent size crt or whatever, I'd stick with that for now. What's the point having a hi-def tv if there won't be a source for 2 years? Wait til 2006/7.

    Though just my opinion. Got my fingers burned buying a 26" lcd set I thought was reasonably future proof (2 component, both 720p/1080i) only to find it's not because you will now need hdmi for Sky's hi-def come 2006. :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...