1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What paint???

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by chubbs, Nov 1, 2004.

1. chubbs

chubbs
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to all this so please bear with me if I sound a little dumb.

I have recently purchased an infocus LP420 projector as something that I can try and see if I like the idea of a projector.

I have a wall that I have just built out of MDF which I am planning the picture to be projected on. What I am trying to find out is...

What is the best colour paint to use on the wall when I come to paint it.

I have seen that a lot of people use Icestorm 5/6 mix, would this be my best choice?

If not what would?

Many thanks

chubbs :clap:

2. RichMercer

RichMercer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's so many factors to consider. My current screen has been painted using a brilliant white matt emulsion and give good results but light levels aren't too much of a problem in my living room. My next screen will be done in Icestorm 6 which is practically white to the naked eye. Some people have used Icestorm 5 and love it, others think it's too dark. It's so hard to reccomend a color without knowing the circumstances involved.

However, my personal reccomendation is to go with Icestorm 6, but that may not work for you.

3. chubbs

chubbs
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks, With regard to light levels, is that the amount of light that will be in the room when the projector is being used?

I don't have blackout curtains just yet but they will be coming shortly. does this then make a difference?

If so what do I do?

4. RichMercer

RichMercer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0