What optical cable for SONY freeview VTX-D800U ??

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by emile heskey, Jun 29, 2004.

  1. emile heskey

    emile heskey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there, just ordered the Sony VTX-D800U after weeks of deliberation from Amazon for £81.99 .. bargain I hope !!
    Could someone post a link to where I can get a decent 1 metre optical cable.
    I've seen the back of the unit already and there doesn't appear to be a socket for the standard optical cable that i've used in the past ??!!
    Cheers for your help ..
     
  2. jaymac

    jaymac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,725
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    North Somerset
    Ratings:
    +138
    It utilises the same socket as the analogue output. You should be able to get the connector from any sony dealer or maplins etc.,. It has a mini phono jack at the 800 end. Costs about £7
    Cheers Jaymac
    Oh and if it does not have the latest update I should hold fire on updating as there seems to be some problems with it
     
  3. Giles

    Giles
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sony are aware of the problems with the new update and once they have a fix are bringing foreward the next update to sort it out, so Sony said to me anyway.
     
  4. jaymac

    jaymac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,725
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    North Somerset
    Ratings:
    +138
    Thats good I,m still waiting for tham to come back to me my problem is av switching since the update.
     
  5. Stinky985

    Stinky985
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    674
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Nr Bath
    Ratings:
    +6
    so is it still a 'normal' optical lead required? My dad has been told £60 for a special lead.are they (C*r*ys) trying it on? I am trying to pursuade my dad to swap a faulty new Pioneer box to this but understandably its putting him off abit!
     
  6. jaymac

    jaymac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,725
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    North Somerset
    Ratings:
    +138
    Well I got mine from the local sony shop its like I said a mimi jack at one end and optical at the other mines is into a Pioneer amp/all in one Ithink currys are at it cheers Mines was £7 dearest ive seen is about£15
     
  7. Acecross

    Acecross
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +55
    The lead I have is a bog standard Toshlink optical cable. I believe it came with the connector you need to plug it into the Sony. It is just a small connector that plugs into the usual square optical connector.

    Shouldn't have to pay more than a couple of quid for an adaptor from maplins if the optical leads yoiu have dont have the correct connection.

    Hope that helps.
     
  8. Supernatural

    Supernatural
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Aldershot
    Ratings:
    +5
    Didn't realise you cross posted this question. I have put an answer - with supplier in the cables and cabling group.

    Paul
     
  9. Cmoth

    Cmoth
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +20
    Yes, a mini toslink cable is all you need which works as an adaptor. I too bought mine from Maplin for about £2. Thats a very good price you got your Sony for too. YOu should find it a very good piece of kit! - Digital Radio is great especially if you link it to your hifi which it sounds like your about to do !

    Colin
     
  10. man_muffy

    man_muffy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought mine from eBay at £3.99. It's a Toslink(Square) to Mini(3.5mm) and works.

    One thing I want to ask is what's the point? I selected "Digital" from the Sony menu for the audio output, and OK, it works but it doesn't send DTS or Dolby Digital signals to the TV. It just looks like normal stereo to me, which I can get through the SCART.

    Chris
     
  11. Giles

    Giles
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Messages:
    65
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well for one the DAC in your amp is going to be better than the DAC in the sony box.

    And second, goes straight to your amp, so less copper and connections are used so the sound will be better.
     
  12. man_muffy

    man_muffy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I can see that - makes sense.
    Does anyone know if there is any chance of the broadcasters supplying extra 5.1 audio channels on freeview? I expect the answer to be "no", but it would be nice.

    Chris
     
  13. matty2767

    matty2767
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    bandwidth on terrestrial tv wont be wide enough to carry digital sound. the best you will get is pro logic II
     

Share This Page

Loading...