What NAS should I use for movies and TV shows?

locutus1

Novice Member
Reaction score
I have a lot of movies and TV shows and would like to put it all on a NAS but I'm not sure which brand I should get. I've never used a NAS before. The NAS will be accessible from my network and I will stream wirelessly from the NAS to my TV. The only NAS I've read a lot about is Drobo. The 5D has 5 bays. Drobo sent me an email about their newest model - the 5C. I haven't read about it yet so I don't know the differences. I know there are many other brands. QNAP is one. I also know Drobo is proprietary so if the NAS fails, you can't read the data. You have to wait for them to send you a new NAS. Other brands are not proprietary, right?
However, with Drobo you can replace just 1 drive if you want to increase storage space. With any other NAS, if you run out of space, don't you have to replace all the drives at the same time? That means Drobo is cheaper since you only need to buy 1 drive at a time.
So I'm not sure which one I should get. There might also be things I don't know about when setting up a NAS. Any advice is appreciated.

Hi There, I have worked with several brands of NAS, from netgear, qnap to synology. I would recommend you have a look at the Synology ones, how
many drives do you need? their software is fantastic. You can format the drives with different types of raid or synologys hybrid approach that allows you to have different sizes of hard drive. Depending on your configuration you can replace just one hard drive to increase space. Depending on budget have a look at the DS916+, DS416 play,Ds416, DS416j. Also you can read this to look into the different raid options: DiskStation Manager - Knowledge Base | Synology Inc.

In terms of replacing drives can you confirm what you actually mean? I have interpreted this to be a case of you simply running out of storage space say on a 3Tb HDD & then wanting to replace it with a 6Tb drive; correct?