What mediaplayer to buy with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X pass through?

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by Arnoud69, May 8, 2016.

  1. Arnoud69

    Arnoud69
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi there, hope hou can help. I have some MKV files with Dolby Atmos sound tracks. I have a setup with a PS4 as BR player before my Marantz with Atmos setup (as of next week 7 channels down, 4 up and 2 subwoofers!).

    Unfortunately the media player in the PS4 for some weird reason cannot do Atmos. You need to have the BR inserted on a physical disc for that.

    So I am now looking around for a simple media player. It only has to attach to my NAS where the MKV files will reside and pass the signal 1:1 on to my Marantz AVR. I noted that the Dune 4K explicitly mentions the possibility, so does the Nvidea. Others say there is Dolby True HD pass through which in my opinion means it would also work. However, at the same time they then mention 7.1 which would imply not enough channels. So I am confused here. For future use I would like to have the same option at the DTS side.

    Oh, video-wise not that many special demands. No need for 4K, just nice to have. 3D would however be preferred.

    So any recommendations what to be looking for and, very important, what tech spec should I actually be looking for if the word "Atmos" is not explicitly mentioned?

    Thanks!
    Arnoud
     
  2. a5ian300zx

    a5ian300zx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3,501
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +423
    The dune solo 4k, himedia q10/5 pro, nvidia shield.

    Are the confirmed ones, I don't have atmos setup but do own solo 4k and nvidia shield.
     
  3. Arnoud69

    Arnoud69
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Wow, exactly the two I also saw spec wise. Also the most expensive. The mede8er also mentions the Audio HD but not Atmos specifically. I fired a mail to customer service there already. Is almost half the price!

    Thanks again.
     
  4. a5ian300zx

    a5ian300zx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3,501
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +423
    The mede8er x3d models can passthrough atmos to av receiver like the above player but not sure about dtsx.

    What's nas do you have? Newer qnap have build in hdmi port and kodi which also passthrough hd audio inc atmos.
     
  5. Rom

    Rom
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +746
    The popcornhour VTen also passes both through to a suitably equipped amp.
     
  6. Arnoud69

    Arnoud69
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks, I have a rather old LaCie NAS. No way it works on that, but besides that it is located at the other end of the house.

    Will also check out the VTen, thanks!
     
  7. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,725
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,947
    Add the WDTV as well to the potentials. The Shield will surpass it one day based upon its superior spec but the WDTV is more reliable as a streamer at the moment. No issue with Atmos or DTS:X MKV over the network.
     
  8. halfelite

    halfelite
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +106
    he wants 3D. that totally counts out the Shield. and that WDTV I think

    His options are
    dune solo - (no 3d subtitles currently supposed to be coming)
    popcorn hour vten or a500
    mede8er x3d any of the models (has issues with 3d subtitles in mkv showing on wrong plane)
    himedia q10/5 pro though I have never owned one so cant comment if its good. first 3 options are the most reliable I think
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2016
  9. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,725
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,947
    He said preferred, I did not read that as absolutely necessary.
     
  10. Arnoud69

    Arnoud69
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks all. I am indeel narrowing down to the Dune and the Mede8er soms am nog going to put all the specs in a simple table to compare. Will share when done.
     
  11. Arnoud69

    Arnoud69
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    After a lot of reviewing it is the Nvidia Shield that is underway for a two week trial period.
     
  12. Arnoud69

    Arnoud69
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    So the Nvidia Shield is here. Nice and fast. However I cannot get the pass through to work.

    I am using Kodi (16.1) and in the settings there I have the pass through enabled.
    I am using a confirmed Atmos test file streaming from my NAS.
    The receiver is picking it up as a 2 channel standard PCM stream.
    On the Shield itself I cannot find any other setting that has to do with this.

    Anybody by any chance has a Shield and knows the proper settings? I went over a lot of forums already. This is however my first Android device and I am turning crazy about all the options etc.

    Thanks!
     
  13. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,725
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,947
    You need SPMC not the official Kodi. It's in the shop.
     
  14. Arnoud69

    Arnoud69
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Wow, great. It indeed works directly!
     
  15. tigermad

    tigermad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    6,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +594
    Hi

    What version of the wdtv does this please? There a quite a few versions.
     
  16. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,725
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,947
    The old version the "live" and the new version "media player" both do it. I was watching Crimsom Peak earlier and the WDTV Media Player had no issue with passing through DTSx to my receiver.
     
  17. zoro

    zoro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    So can I safely assume Nvidia is the latest and greatest to do 4K with HDR, netflix 4k, atoms and DTS X with HDMI 2.0? I heard there is a newer version anticipated?
     
  18. mtenga

    mtenga
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7,725
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +1,947
    For all that you list there is only the Shield.

    Yes a new version is anticipated but who knows when.
     
  19. zoro

    zoro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    I got one but so far not a smooth sync with my LG OLED screen continue flickering
     
  20. kapilluthra1

    kapilluthra1
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I got one Pioneer VSX 930 with 7.2 setup. I have LETV X55 (55 inch 4k display) with a 8tb qnap NAS and one 2tb hdd. I have a lot of movies with Dolby Atmos. Whenever I play the 1080p dolby surround content in the TV's native player, it plays really well and my AVR automatically switches itself to dolby mode. Whenever I try to play the 4k Atmos content on the TV, it fails to play as stating unsupported file format. I've installed Kodi on the TV and now it's playing the 4k content of upto 90gb of file size. Please suggest how can I play the huge file size with 4k Dolby Atmos sound AVR switching itself to dolby mode. Currently the TV is unable to throw the dolby to AVR and AVR is not switching the sound to dolby mode when used Kodi. Do I need any media player to throw the dolby sound to AVR.

    Please help.
     
  21. raf77

    raf77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +26
    You need external media player with support for dolby atmos as well as avr with dolby atmos decoder as well as dolby atmos speakers system.
    A lot to do. To get 3d soud.
     
  22. NBrice

    NBrice
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,093
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +473
    Shield does it all but not perfectly. My biggest gripe is that the picture quality is nowhere near as good as my NUC. It just looks soft, with more noise and more banding.

    The upscaling is awful too unless you use SPMC, but then you have to disable the high quality upscalers if you want to play HDR content and vice versa, so you're having to switch back and forth. SPMC also stutters occasionally when playing x264 4K content, whereas Kodi doesn't. So again, you're switching back and forth.

    And there's no automatic framerate switching in Netflix or Amazon which is a massive pain.. again more switching frame rates in the Shield settings menu depending what you're watching. In comparison, the internal apps on my LG C6, and my Samsung UBD-K8500, both switch frame rates automatically.

    I only use my Shield to play HDR content because my C6 plays it but with audio out of sync, and my NUC doesn't support HDR. But I'm hoping for a HDR update for the new Kaby Lake NUCs soon and then I'm upgrading.
     
  23. Toolbox

    Toolbox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manila
    Ratings:
    +21
    I've got the same predicament... I have been using a Mede8er for the longest time but it will not play ATMOS or DTS-X and am looking for a good replacement for it. I've read the whole thread and at the end of the day, I can tell that the Shield is probably best but what about an HTPC running Windows 10 and just using VLC or any other Player?

    Would this be ideal?
     
  24. xar

    xar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,623
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +964
    I have a himedia Q10 and am looking at other options, so interested in the answer to this.

    Also, can anyone confirm if the Shield Tv can auto detect and play the native resolution? On the Q10 i need to select 1080p or 2160p from the main menu, and this then forces kodi to output at that resolution for all files regardless, either upscaling or downscaling in house, which i don't like.
     
  25. raf77

    raf77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +26
    If You watching a lot of 2160p movies, just live on 2160p and let player to upscale others movies. You TV 4k upscale them anyway.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2017
  26. MovieNerd

    MovieNerd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi I am in the same boat.

    I just bought a lg e6 oled which is great however it won't output dolby atmos or dts x down the ARC, I had a medi8er which is great in 1080p and does atmos and dts x fine however it doesnt do 4k.

    So basically I am looking for 4k, hdr, atmos, dtx at the very best possible picture quality. The files it needs to play are between 30 and 70gb and are stored on a usb hard drive that I would plug into the deviced.

    Thanks
     
  27. a5ian300zx

    a5ian300zx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3,501
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +423
    I can confirm the older hdi dunes ie hdi prime 3.0 can do atmos and dtsx.

    I have atmos and dtsx 7.1.2 setup now.
     
  28. MovieNerd

    MovieNerd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +15
    Do you know if they can do HDR or dolby vision please dude ?
     
  29. a5ian300zx

    a5ian300zx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3,501
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +423
    no to both,

    no media player can do dolby vision yet as it has to be licensed.

    hdr10 (static hdr) is supported by some media players the best one I have heard of is the new zappiti players.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2017
  30. MovieNerd

    MovieNerd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +15
    Ok thank you, I was looking at the Zappiti mini 4k hdr

    Although i am hoping the oppo 203 will do all of that and then I can save up and get that and a great UHD player.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice