What LCD to buy for playing games & watching sport?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by Reed_360, Sep 4, 2007.

Tags:
  1. Reed_360

Reed_360

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi,

I am really new to this rather complicated scene and I'm finding it hard to seperate the wood from the trees.

In short I am looking to buy my first LCD TV. I have decided that it won't be above 40inch due to size of room and that's pretty much it in terms of definitive choices :D

The TV will be used primarily for playing my Xbox 360 and watching Sky. I don't have Sky + or Sky HD just yet but these are things I am looking at in the future. I love watching sport so football, MotoGP and golf will be high on the list of 'watched programs'

I have gone through all the normal online places to purchase and get so confused with the huge amount of choice - where do I start ?

Love the styling of the Samsung's but have heard loads of great reports about the Bravia's. Have heard that the Phillips is a good purchase (What? Hifi Sound & Vision Awards 2007) and then there are the other's - Toshiba, LG etc etc

Could someone give me some tips on what I should be looking for in the tech spec's based on how I'll be using the TV? (gaming, fast moving football etc).

Should I be waiting till the next models come out too, or would it be better picking up an older model bargain?

My budget is going to be about £1200. Do I just buy the most expensive 40incher for that price ?????

Thanks in advance for any advice given.

rgds,

Reed

2. ukbandit

ukbandit

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    www.*, use their hdtv selecter

3. Reed_360

Reed_360

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    absolutely quality mate - asked the 3 questions top of my list ! Sport, Gaming & Movies.. (guess there isn't much else to do with a TV after all that is there..:D)