What Kind of Signal Will I Get ?

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by vgmf, Oct 25, 2001.

Tags:
  1. vgmf

    vgmf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dumb Question time !!!!

    If I have a S-VHS VCR and I connect it up to an Av Amplifier with an Svhs cable and stereo sound cables, what signal will I get when I play a regular pre-recorded VHS tape in the machine?

    .1. Will I get a "lower" quality S-VHS signal ?
    .2. Will I get a blank screen ?
    .3. Or do I have to connect the machine up for both S-VHS and Composite so it sends the right signal depending on what format is on the tape being played.

    Any ideas / help please :confused:
     
  2. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,401
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +149
    You will simply get a composite quality pic via an S-vieo cable.
    It will be no better than if you were to use a composite video cable in the phono video sockets.

    So you don't need to cater for both, the S-Video can handle both.

    S-video only comes into it's own if the source has been recorded in S-VHS or better (i.e. DVD).
     
  3. vgmf

    vgmf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the help, but will my Denon 3801 Av Amp recognise it asa S-Vhs signal and "switch" to the S-Vhs output side , or will it not because it recognises it as a Composite signal, and cannot "cross" switch ?

    Regards
     
  4. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,401
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +149
    Are you ouputting from S-Video or Composite from your amp to Tv?

    Some amps cross switch, some don't.

    Have a look in the manual or just try it for yourself.

    Post more details on what you are trying to hook up.
     
  5. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,852
    AFAIK, the Denon doesn't cross-switch. It simply outputs whatever is on the S-video input (source) to the S-video output, and whatever is on the composite (source) to the composite output.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice