1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Kind of Signal Will I Get ?

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by vgmf, Oct 25, 2001.

Tags:
  1. vgmf

    vgmf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dumb Question time !!!!

    If I have a S-VHS VCR and I connect it up to an Av Amplifier with an Svhs cable and stereo sound cables, what signal will I get when I play a regular pre-recorded VHS tape in the machine?

    .1. Will I get a "lower" quality S-VHS signal ?
    .2. Will I get a blank screen ?
    .3. Or do I have to connect the machine up for both S-VHS and Composite so it sends the right signal depending on what format is on the tape being played.

    Any ideas / help please :confused:
     
  2. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,354
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +144
    You will simply get a composite quality pic via an S-vieo cable.
    It will be no better than if you were to use a composite video cable in the phono video sockets.

    So you don't need to cater for both, the S-Video can handle both.

    S-video only comes into it's own if the source has been recorded in S-VHS or better (i.e. DVD).
     
  3. vgmf

    vgmf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the help, but will my Denon 3801 Av Amp recognise it asa S-Vhs signal and "switch" to the S-Vhs output side , or will it not because it recognises it as a Composite signal, and cannot "cross" switch ?

    Regards
     
  4. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,354
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +144
    Are you ouputting from S-Video or Composite from your amp to Tv?

    Some amps cross switch, some don't.

    Have a look in the manual or just try it for yourself.

    Post more details on what you are trying to hook up.
     
  5. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    AFAIK, the Denon doesn't cross-switch. It simply outputs whatever is on the S-video input (source) to the S-video output, and whatever is on the composite (source) to the composite output.
     

Share This Page

Loading...