1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Is The RS232 Output For?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Rick1486, Aug 10, 2005.

  1. Rick1486

    Rick1486
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, just a quick question - the other day whilst connecting my new H57 projector using the supplied SCART adaptor to run VGA to VGA from the SKY+ to the projector, I saw an RS232 jack near to the SCART sockets.
    Would someone please tell me what this is for?
    Can I use it to just plug directly using my VGA cable and maybe get a better quality picture than I'm currently getting using the SCART adaptor?

    Hope you can help.

    Cheers
    Rick
     
  2. ReggieDaMole

    ReggieDaMole
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    The fields of Anfield Road
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL - its a serial connector NOT a VGA connnector. Serial port (for data transfer) is used to connect to a PC to install patches etc.
     
  3. branny

    branny
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pie Land
    Ratings:
    +202
    Funnily enough I came into this section after noticing the same thing last night. You beat me to the question.... I am also thinking if connection via VGA cable into my plassie is possible.

    Branny
     
  4. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    You can get a RGB -> VGA converter that would allow to connect the scart ouptut from a Sky box to the VGA input on a plasma.

    John
     
  5. Rick1486

    Rick1486
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    D'oh! Thanks mate.
    Branny if the quality on your Panny is the same as my H57, I'd recommend not bothering because personally I didn't notice an improvement in pq really, rather I did start to see some shadowing so I wouldn't waste money on a cable (he says, £30 odd quid spent on a Lindy cable later).
    Rick
     
  6. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    If you want better quality from the Sky+ box, you need to invest in a scaler. However, as in most other things the "law of diminishing returns" comes into play, and you don't get much for your money at the lower end of the market. Projectors usually benefit greatly by being fed from a progressive source.
     
  7. Rick1486

    Rick1486
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks mate, don't think I'll bother with a scaler though - the piccie isn't that bad.

    Cheers
    Rick
     
  8. branny

    branny
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Pie Land
    Ratings:
    +202
    My piccie is also good. Was just that I have a spare monitor cable that I would have plugged in. Thanks for the tips tho.

    Cheers
    Branny
     

Share This Page

Loading...