1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is the advantage of having a 1366 x 768 resolution....

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Batch, Oct 3, 2005.

  1. Batch

    Batch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    University: Lancaster, Home: Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +200
    ....on a TV which can only support Standard Definition?

    Thanks

    Batch
     
  2. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    What do you mean about only being able to support SD. Most LCDs with this resolution should come with a component input which will allow them to receive some of of HD picture, whether that is via Sky or games console etc. This may not be strictly "HD Ready" but it's only the lack of a digital input that it misses out on being labelled as such.

    If, on the the other hand it doesn't come with a component input and won't be able to recieve HD at all in any form then IMO there's no advantage over a screen that would more closely match a SD resolution broadcast.
     
  3. Batch

    Batch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    University: Lancaster, Home: Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +200
    Thanks, but what exactly does the 'digital input' do?

    Batch
     
  4. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    The Digital Inputs on LCD TVs are either HDMI or DVI. In order for the TV to be 'HD Ready' the digital inputs need HDCP (As well as a couple of other things) which is a kind of copyright. HDMI has HDCP as standard but DVI can be with or without HDCP.

    Richie.
     
  5. Batch

    Batch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    University: Lancaster, Home: Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +200
    so if my TV has a resolution of 1366 x 768 and has component inputs, will i beable to play the xbox 360 at 720p on it - even if the tv is not HD-Ready?

    Thanks

    Batch
     
  6. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    Batch is right, some TVs DO have panels of that size but only support Standard Def via the inputs.

    None whatsoever. Any set that has this demonstrates shockingly bad planning by the manufacturer. It'll be uncommon now, but a lot of it probably has to do with sets that were Component-equipped being brought over to Europe and having their Component inputs replaced with RGB SCART ones.
     
  7. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    Nobody said otherwise.
     
  8. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    I know, I wasn't suggesting anyone had.
     
  9. hufartd

    hufartd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +67
    my tosh 26/wl/ 46
    supports 1080i via component inputs.
    I think it is 1366 x768
    does this make it sky hd compatible or will it only recieve half the programming
    ie if movies are broadcast in 720p will the sky box scale to 1080i on the component output.
     
  10. J.Glen

    J.Glen
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    On most cases yes.HD-ready applies to the tv having an HDMI input or a HDCP-DVI input but the xbox360 won't use either of those,it will only use component(or a VGA cable) for its high-def signal.

    90% of newer LCDs will provide an 720p image through component so you will be fine for playing high-res xbox360 games.You should check out if the model you are about to buy will provide high-def signals via component.It's not that difficult to find that out,that's what the internet is for :hiya:
     
  11. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    No probs, you're emphasis on the word DO sounded like you thought some of didn't believe him.
     

Share This Page

Loading...