What is that on the Samsung LCD TV?

Discussion in 'Samsung TVs Forum' started by Csäku, Sep 9, 2007.

Tags:
  1. Csäku

Csäku
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi everybody!
    This is my first thread/post on this forum.I would like to buy an LCD TV but dont want to jump in the middle of purchase.I am now collecting informations/opinions from owners,etc...
    My favourite brand is Sony,but its too expensive for me.A few reasons why i decided to choose a Samsung product:
    1, design (very stylish)
    2, one of the market leading brands
    3, i am a Samsung employee,and there is a special extra discount of products for employees so i can get the TV much more cheaper.

I am very new to LCD TVs so i dont know the most common problems they have and this is the reason i am asking you.
    yesterday i took some shots of Alien vs Predator (DVD video) on a Samsung LE40M73BDX (dont say me its too old model and that i have to choose the newest M or F series because i know it,this is just an example). The movie was fed from a Samsung Home theatre player through HDMI.i noticed a very strong effect in the picture.it seems that it is destroying the overall image quality and i see it even if i watch it from distant place.the effect can be seen especially in darker scenes.i didnt done any calibration/setting on the set but i am afraid this is a common problem of LCD TVs nowaday(seen many TVs in shops and noticed the same).
    So the question i have that what is that effect called and how common is it,or its just about the DVD film quality?
    the pictures are attached!
    Does the M86 or F series have this issue?
    Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. Csäku

Csäku
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ok, i searched the web a little bit and now i think this might be about the shadow detail? what i saw and what can be seen on the photos is the poor shadow detail?