1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is RG 59 / RG 6

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by sticker, Jun 21, 2003.

  1. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone tell me what RG 59 / RG 6 is and where to buy it?
    Regards
    John
     
  2. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    They are Coaxial cable specifications. Your satellite/cable/TV coax will be a type of RG59. RG6 is a slightly thicker, more rigid type.

    You can buy it from the likes of Farnell, CPC, RS Components, Maplin. However what you need to decide on first is it's use, as this will better determine the specific cable manufacturer and type you should be looking at.
     
  3. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Groundy for your reply.

    The reason I ask is that I've seen a few posts by Nic Rhodes concerning this relating to subwoofer cable
     
  4. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Most Sub cables are coaxial based. As long as you pick a type with good electrical characteristics & proper shielding, it can be a fantastic performer in a variety of different applications.
     
  5. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could I use Van Damme starquad microphone cable for sub cable?
    Sorry to be thicky but I'm unsure how you determine what is coax!
     
  6. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Co-ax is such a cable that has a central core with a shield or some other conductor all around it, in a circle (if seen as a cross section).

    Such like the afore mentioned aerial cable.

    I use star-quad for my sub and it sounds pretty damn good to me. You do not need to use co-ax for a sub, provided that the signal cable is good it will work well. All down to your ears at the end of the day.
     
  7. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys
     
  8. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    The beauty of Coax in sub cacles is it is cheap! 50p will net you a fine cable suitable for the job. The 75 ohm CI etc are irrelevant at audio frequencies but vital for digital / video.
     
  9. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I like the words "cheap" and "fine" in relation to anything AV:devil: .......thanks for everyones input and thanks for putting up with all the dumb questions I've been asking in this section.

    Just upgraded my proc/amp/dvd/sub/speakers and trying to get full value from them without spending an arm and a leg...........one leg and an arm has gone on buying the electronics, I can't afford to lose the others on the cable :)
    Regards
    John
     

Share This Page

Loading...