1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what is progressive scan?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by dan76n, May 4, 2004.

  1. dan76n

    dan76n
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, Just wondering what progressive scan is, did a search and everyone seems to talk about it but no definitions.
    Also what dvd players dont pause on layer transition.
     
  2. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    Look in "Techtalk" section of this forum there is a sticky on the subject, at the top of the "Progressive scan and Video processing" sub section.
     
  3. puddleduck

    puddleduck
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lake District, near as dammit
    Ratings:
    +50
    perhaps a better question would be "what is a search engine?" ;)
     
  4. Promised Land

    Promised Land
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Thin Line
    Ratings:
    +0
    Denon DVD2200 has no pause what-so-ever,at least not on the six or so films I've seen on the latest addition to my setup:smashin:
     
  5. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    :confused: :offtopic:
     
  6. Promised Land

    Promised Land
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Thin Line
    Ratings:
    +0
    Vonhosen;He asked what players don't have a pause on the layer change,how exactly am I off topic:confused:
     
  7. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    I apologise:blush:

    Indeed most Denon's are good in this regard.
     
  8. Promised Land

    Promised Land
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Thin Line
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problemo;) You're right in Denon being good in that respect though,haven't seen a pause yet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...