1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what is min spec computer to video edit?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by inquisitive, Dec 20, 2004.

1. inquisitive

inquisitive
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello
    Need to edit DV video, but my present computer has two faults:
    1 It drops a few frames when transfering through firewire to hard drive.
    2 It stutters when editing the full mix (as if it is on the limit of its capability and just cant quite handle it).

I am a student on min money and wondered:
    WHICH IS THE BIT THAT I SHOULD UPGRADE TO ALLOW IT TO COPE??

My computer is:
    Legend QDI Advanced-9 V1.XX
    BusClock 133Mhz
    P111 800Mhz
    256 Ram
    NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64/Model64 Pro (Graphics Card)
    CMI8738/C3DX PCI Audio Device (Sound Card)
    PCI OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Contoller (Fire Wire Card)

Any knowledge/thinking would be much appreciated, thanks.

2. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    Welcome to the forum inquisitive :hiya:

Well the specs of your PC look ok for editng other than you could really do with upgrading your RAM to at least 512Mb (1Gb would be better).
    Dropped frames are nearly always caused by either the HDD being short of space or needing to be defragmented or having things like antivirus software running.

Capture needs around 14Gb per hour plus more spare for editing, so I would recommend you have at least 30Gb spare before you start. It is also recommended to have a dedicated HDD for capture with no software including the editing software installed on it.