What is Dolby Vision passthrough? What is the big deal if a soundbar does not support it? (HW-K950)

Discussion in 'Soundbars, Soundplates & Soundbases' started by Syonora, Jun 7, 2018.

1. Syonora

Syonora
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Pardon my lack of understanding of this topic as I am new to soundbars and cannot find any good explanation on the internet. I am looking to buy a soundbar, and am researching what to buy. One of the things I see Samsung HW-K950 owners complain about is the lack of "Dolby Vision passthrough". What does "Dolby Vision Passthrough" and it not being supported mean and why is it a big deal?

When I look at the Amazon page for the product: https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-HW-K950-ZA-Soundbar-Technology/dp/B01I0HW12O

I see something about "4K Pass-Through" that is supported. Is 4K passthrough not the same thing as Dolby Vision passthrough? I am very confused because I thought Dolby Vision has to do with visuals, and Dolby Atmos has to do with the sound. Why does Dolby Vision passthrough even matter for a soundbar?

I see a different soundbar like the Sony ST-HT5000 supports Dolby Atmos and Dolby Vision passthrough.

I see something about receivers supporting or not supporting Dolby Vision passthrough... in the setup I am looking to have, I just want to get two things. TV (which supports Dolby Vision and Atmos) + Soundbar and connecting the two with HDMI. Does "Dolby Vision Passthrough" matter to me? Should it even be a factor I should be concerned with? Why do others seem to complain about it not being there?

2. PlasmaManiac

PlasmaManiac

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +29
    I’m no expert, I’ve only come back into the scene and drowning in all these new formats which have surfaced during my absence.