1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is a Receiver good for, anyway?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by alefsin, Mar 24, 2005.

1. alefsin

alefsin
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Probably a stupid question but I'm a total noob in audio/video devices.

My question is, if you have a good DVD player like Panasonic S97 connected to your LCD with HDMI, then why would you ever need to add another expensive component like a Panasonic SA-XR70 receiver to it? What is the function of the receiver besides having a possibly more powerful (in terms of RMS) audio output? Does the receiver add anything to the PQ or SQ? or it is just for adding more connectivity? :confused:

2. Tejstar

Tejstar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,080
    Imo, the AV amplifier Is the heart of home cinema.

You would use one if you wanted 5.1 sound in your living room. The ‘5’ part stands for two front speakers (l&r), two rear speakers (l&r) and a centre channel. The’.1’ part stands for the subwoofer.

Basically, they decode Dolby Digital and DTS to deliver a home cinema experience in your living room. The amp selects and boosts low-level audio signals to an amplitude which is capable of driving your loudspeakers.

3. alefsin

alefsin
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    hmmm, but players like Pana S97 or Denon 2910 already have a dolby/DTS decoder. Aren't they enough for a medium sized room?

4. Tejstar

Tejstar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,080
    It may contain the decoders but does not contain the amplification needed to drive the speakers.

5. ahin4114

ahin4114

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +48