1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What interconnects are needed

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Vodder, Jan 17, 2004.

1. Vodder

Vodder
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now this may seem like a completely silly question but I am fairly new to all this and want to get it right first time!

I have (or will by the end of the month, if I can ever decide on the amp) the following:

Sony TV, with 3 Scarts (1xRGB)
    Nokia Freeview box, with 2 scarts
    Sony SRV820 VCR, with 2 scarts
    Pioneer 565A
    AMP (Probably going to be Marantz SR7400)
    PC with S-video TV-OUT and normal soundcard out.
    B&W 5.1 setup

The bit I need help with (please!) is the best way to connect it all up. I'm going slightly mad with it all.

I currently have IXOS S-VHS to S-VHS lead and IXOS phono to phono (with jack-plu converter) connecting the PC to the TV. BUt what are all the other leads I am going to need to connect the rest of it all up?

Everything has to go through the AMP right? Am I best with coaxial digital or optical for the DVD?

This setup wll be used for SACD and DVD-Audio playback so am I right in thinking I need to connect the audio separately?

Thanks in advance

2. bobbypunk

bobbypunk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is why people buy from shops rather than online, as installing things and getting advice on connecting them is a service you pay for within the price!

3. Joe Fernand

Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,464
    Vodder

You have two basic choices ahead of you:

A. Use an AV Amp as both a Video and Audio hub and most likely limit yourself to Composite or S-Video switching as most amps dont handle RGB.