What HTPC?

Discussion in 'Home Entertainment Computers' started by scott8629, Dec 23, 2006.

1. scott8629

scott8629

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10
    I have decided to build myself a HTPC to complement my new Sharp 1080P LCD

The PC will also be used to surf the net, recieve emails and a small amount of office work as well as watching TV and HD content on its hard disk.

I have built PC's before but I have been out of the fold for a few years and have never attemped a HTPC.

Could someone point me in the right directions as of the compents I will require especially the video card (1920x1080) as I would like a HDMI o/p?

Also this HTPC will be replacing a Topfield PVR, are there any programs that I can install on to the HTPC that will perform fucntions like 14day EPG with sky plus like recording (just like the toppy)?

Any good online retailers of these components?

Sorry for all the questions but I am totally new to this HTPC lark!

Kind regards

Scott

2. jezzer256

jezzer256

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +164
    Hi Scott

I'm no expert either, but I know that there are very few graphics cards with HDMI outputs. However all new models will have DVI, so a simple DVI-HDMI lead should do the trick nicely :) .

Components wise, it all depends on how big you want the case to be & how much you want to spend. Also, you may be limited if you want to have an 'as-near-to-silent-as-possible' HTPC. If you could tell us this, it will be much easier to spec up a machine :thumbsup: .

I'm not familiar with the Topfield PVR, however there are TV cards out there that can be set to timer record (I think). I don't know much about this though.

Hope that helps

Jezzer

3. dh140770

dh140770

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would recommend installing the minimum amount of software that you need on the HTPC