What Hifi Exile Saying Hello

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Darren Heal, Aug 13, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Darren Heal

Darren Heal

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    Have moved over from the WHF forum due to its imminent, some would say long overdue, demise.

I'm an ex-pat Brit living in Cypress, Texas, where I've been (mostly) since September 2000. Cypress is part of the suburban sprawl on the northwest edge of Houston, the fourth largest city in the US. My day job is designing and building oil and gas pipelines, currently onshore through an alligator infested swamp, but historically offshore in any depth of water you can think of from 50 feet to over 6,000. Before I moved to Cypress I lived and worked in Aberdeen for 11 years. I grew up in the Ringwood / Christchurch area, although my family and I are originally from Bristol.

My home is set up with a 19 ft x 12 ft 6 in movie room upstairs, in which I currently have a Marantz SR-7010 driving a 7.2.4 setup using a cheap Onkyo stereo power amp to drive the back two Atmos speakers. The speakers are all Yamaha "Natural Sound" models - NS-IW960 fronts and centre, NS-IW660s at the sides and back and NS-IC800s in the ceiling. All wired with 12-gauge 165 strand Mediabridge speaker cable off a roll. I have two Polk PSW-110 subs at the front. Nothing fancy or pretentious, but they all do a great job. I actually have six speakers in the ceiling. The builder put in two, and then I decided to upgrade from 5.2.2 to 7.2.4 so I installed four more, and couldn't be ahemed to fix the holes in the ceiling and so left the original two speakers in place. They're only about $130 a pair so cheaper than a plasterer and I'm future proofed :) All the installation work was done by yours truly. I have the benefit of having an attic above, behind and in front of the movie room, so getting behind the plasterboard was quite easy for me.