1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What HD Plasma for £1K +/- 10% ?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by NaTT, Aug 29, 2005.

  1. NaTT

    NaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +77
    would you get?
    Want to be able to put sky and a web cast through it. :lease:
    But idealy it should have:
    DVI (HDCP ready)
    Component in
    high contrast ratio
    not too fussy over input sizes and frequencies
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Add at least £500 to the budget. Samsung make the cheapest, it's not problem free and there are some issued concerning PC connectivity. Other than that, it's Panasonic panels, or Hitachi, who also have PC issues.
     
  3. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,081
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +660
    HD plasma for £1000? You gotta be kiddin'
     
  4. NaTT

    NaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +77
    well it's for a mate and he's seen some obscure brand that's does fit the bill. It's been discussed on here somewhere but I can't remember what it was. Will come back.... :cool:
     
  5. Matt.Wild

    Matt.Wild
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +87
    Daewoo do one for £1135!
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    That's a strange one, cos Daewoo don't list any 1280x960 plasmas anywhere else in the world, not quite sure which planet it's from in fact. Anyone any wiser than me on this? That's the spec on Robertsons online.
     
  7. Matt.Wild

    Matt.Wild
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Walsall
    Ratings:
    +87
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Yes, thought you were. As I say, no idea what this is. chapelectricals have it as a w-vga panel though, so how you get 1280x960 sub pixels out of this I have no idea!!! It's certainly not HD ready, it may be HD compatible. Not enough resolution.
     
  9. NaTT

    NaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +77
    thanks maw, I'll keep looking
     

Share This Page

Loading...