1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Hard Drives Were Used To Upgrade?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by General Skanky, Sep 13, 2003.

  1. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    I've searched to find what drives people have been using to upgrade their Sky+ boxes.

    However, it's all a bit sketchy, even Hummer doesn't list too many options.

    So I simply ask people to list what they put in please?

    Make, model, capacity, 5400/7200, runs hot or cold, noisy or quiet?

    Any chance of a sticky on this as too mods? We do need a definative list I would have thought for such a new hot topic.;)
     
  2. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Maxtor FDB drive. 120GB, 7200rpm. Quieter than the original and the case does not even get warm.
     
  3. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Same here, I use one with 2mb buffer but I have heard that the 8mb ones work as well.
     
  4. IvorBigun

    IvorBigun
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :) :) :)
    Just bought the Maxtor 6Y120LO from Simply Computers for @ £75.
    You might like to run the utilities programs to set the accoustic management to quiet, and also turn off the write verification.
     
  5. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    This looses sticky status if it dies due to lack of interest.
    I'll pm the address to send the £10. :)
     
  6. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Fair enough.:)

    Lots of views, not too many replies. Doesn't look too good then.

    I'd just like to see a big list formed for our benefit.
     
  7. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Somebody mentioned sucess with one of th WD ones a little while ago, that had a 8mb buffer as well.
     
  8. Fairzo

    Fairzo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm interested in this topic, had Sky + just over a year, so it is outside the warranty period, and the existing hd is not really large enough (particularly when recording NFL can take 60% of the space!).

    It would be useful to know recommended type of hd, cost, retailer and also the availability of an idiot-proof guide to changing the disks.
     
  9. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    The most definitive list I've seen so far that summarises the various disks tried is here.

    A great piece of work compiling those disks that workand a fairly authoritive summary.

    Hope this helps.

    Ian Guinan
     
  10. Fairzo

    Fairzo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, this is useful. Slightly worrying though that two disks have been fitted on 31 September this year!
     
  11. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Seen that list before. Just hoping we could come up with a better one. If not, then no worries.
     
  12. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    You're all using 7200rpm drives then?
     
  13. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Seem to be, the old 5400 rpm drives didn't have fdb bearings so were quite noisy, not many of the newer drives are 5400 untill you get to the larger sizes which you cant take advantage of the size for the money, the 137gb limit.
     
  14. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    My only worry is the concern over 7200 drives not liked by Sky+. The time it takes to read or somwthing. Satcure has a detailed write up about it.
     
  15. IvorBigun

    IvorBigun
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :cool: :cool: :cool:
    Maxtor 6Y120LO up and running fine. I ran the utilities program to set the drive to "quiet", and also turned off the write verification.
    Runs at 7200 rpm,but in my opinion, very quietly, in fact, the fan makes more noise. Heat wise, i think it is similar to the original, in that the case gets warm, but not hot.:cool:
     
  16. Too Tall

    Too Tall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've used a Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 120Gb 7200rpm UDMA133

    It's very quiet and I've had no problems so far with over heating.

    £70 from eBuyer back in June.

    Cheers,
    Too Tall.
     
  17. Dubbing Mixer

    Dubbing Mixer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    By, and sometimes in, the sea
    Ratings:
    +2
    Could this thread be widened to include the various HD/DVD recorders? I'm looking at buying one of these soon but I'd like to know if anyone's tried upgrading the hard drives.
     
  18. tosh

    tosh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is the capacity (in hours) of a 120Gb disk?
    I'm getting Sky+ on Thursday, not sure I'm happy with invalidating the warranty when I’ve only had it five minutes. If it all went wrong, my wife would KILL ME !!!!!
     
  19. IvorBigun

    IvorBigun
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    About 60 hours.
     
  20. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,845
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +828
    There was a feature in one of the recent issues of Home Cinema Choice about upgrading the hard drive in the Sky+ box - worth a read as it takes you through the complete installation, and tells you what drive to buy.
     
  21. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,203
    The Panasonic models HS2/E100 are locked into their respective HDD sizes and nobody seems to have been able to break them. To early to say for the Pioneer 5100 yet. But I would suggest both companies see their future profits from selling machines with larger and larger HDD hence they will make it difficult for people to upgrade!
     
  22. THX THX THX

    THX THX THX
    Bad trader

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincs
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rasczak, do you know what is the maximum drive size that can go into a tivo?
     
  23. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,203
    Afraid not - I never went down the Tivo route. I believe it may be 2 x 80GB drives but I've seen a variety of graphs which indicate nearly double this :confused:
     
  24. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +375
    Check on the tivocommunity forum but AFAIK it's generally 2x160Gb drives (but I think you can only format them to 13? Gb due to software limits) ... still more than enough !!

    If you hunt around on those forums you can find some info about guys who upgraded to some removeable (ie server typr) HD's as well ...

    Jon
     
  25. Starkiller

    Starkiller
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hope this is not a dumb question

    Is 120gb the biggest HD you can install in a $ky+ box
    cuz ive seen some 160-200gb drives quite cheep

    Edit: its 137gb max
     
  26. dsd1036

    dsd1036
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    planet earth
    Ratings:
    +0
    just ordered a maxtor 120gb hardrive for my v1 sky+ box.is it easy to fit?is there any thing special i need to do or do i just plug and go.do i need a pc to configure it?

    cheers
    dsd1036:smashin:
     
  27. STOWITBELOW

    STOWITBELOW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +49
    Sorry I've previously posted, but cant recall the model of my upgrade; a Samsung 120gig 7200 spindle speed. It's excellent, quiet & cool, one month old, no problems.
     
  28. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    Stowitbelow - would be grateful if you could dig out that model number!!
     
  29. THFC

    THFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Ratings:
    +5
  30. STOWITBELOW

    STOWITBELOW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +49
    Sorry andrewdolphin, I can't find the reciept & a change of pc HDD means I've lost the e correspondance. I ordered the model off one of those lists above, but was delivered a faster 7200 rpm HDD, not the 5400rpm one I ordered. (online from Savastore @ Watford.) I couldn't face the returns so fitted it & haven't looked back. The sad thing is, if I'd have tried to buy the faster HDD I'd have got it cheaper elsewhere. It was only as they were advertising the slower 5400 rpm one I bought from there. However although it was £80, it's worth the £20 premium over the equvolent Maxtor, as it's been faultless. Some of the reports on Maxtor upgrades have not been positive. So far I've nothing but praise for the Samsung. I keep saying, my standard Maxtor was too hot to touch on removal, it makes me think my upgrade has actualy prevented some problems with my +.
     

Share This Page

Loading...