What hard drive does PS3 use?

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by Elecktro, Apr 20, 2007.

  1. Elecktro

    Elecktro
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi!

    just wanted to ask what brand hard drive does the PS3 use?
     
  2. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    I believe it's a Seagate 60GB 2.5" SATA.
     
  3. PygoShlee

    PygoShlee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +155
    Yep it does, 2.5".

    Ash
     
  4. anh_duong

    anh_duong
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    seagate. all momentus 2.5 seagate sata drives will work.
     
  5. Elecktro

    Elecktro
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    ic..thanks ppl! i was thinking of upgrading my hard drive to a larger capacity. ...will probably go with a larger capacity seagate as the ps3 already uses them

    oh btw..does it really matter what speed (rpm) it is or not?
     
  6. Tony Hoyle

    Tony Hoyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +231
    PS3 uses 5400. You could put a 7200 in there but it would generate more heat (and potentially more fan noise).
     
  7. MattZani

    MattZani
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Weymouth
    Ratings:
    +23
    Also, make sure its SATA.

    Matt
     
  8. small358786

    small358786
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +83
  9. Elecktro

    Elecktro
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    sorry just one more question..since i don't know too much about hard rives..does the PS3 support or work fine with dual-platter hard drives?
     
  10. Elecktro

    Elecktro
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    anyone?:confused:
     
  11. Naqv

    Naqv
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,645
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +355
    If its 2.5" and SATA, it will work with the PS3. You don't have to get seagate, any company's hard drive will work.
    Dual-platter will work.
     
  12. Elecktro

    Elecktro
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks mate! :smashin:

    just wanted to make sure
     

Share This Page

Loading...