what happened to dolby digital on sky

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by paulefox, May 18, 2003.

  1. paulefox

    paulefox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds
    Ratings:
    +43
    It seems to have gone.
    i ahve had a look through sky movies widescreen and they dont seem to be broadcasting in it now.
    has something gone wrong ?
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Perhaps the switch to more widescreen and DD5.1 movie channels (June 3rd) includes a physical movement of the playout hardware that has been used for Premier W/S.
     
  3. chard

    chard
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Damn, just copied Spy Game on the w/s channel and noticed that it is DS not DD.....

    anyone know what's going on ?

    looking forward to June 3rd.
     
  4. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    What's happening on June 3rd?
     
  5. chard

    chard
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    they are meant to have 3/4 Premier channels in 5.1 ..........plus Sky One and Sky One Mix in w/s.

    Some 130 5.1 movies in 5.1 in June alone !!
     
  6. GETanner

    GETanner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +76
    I would check your equipment.

    I recorded Spy Game on the 17th at 8pm and my Denon amp is using a 5.1 signal (all 6 red lights are on).

    Guy
     
  7. Fairzo

    Fairzo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So did I and it claimed to be in DS on both the banner and on the Sky screen immediately before the film starts. Have to say it did sound better than most DS soundtracks although it's difficult to be objective without being able to make a comparison.
     
  8. asimm

    asimm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +75
    Chard

    I watched Spy Game and it was DD - one of the best I have heard (helicopter scenes were great). Maybe the EPG and pre-film screen just got it wrong. I doubt after they have invested so much in Sky plus that they would drop DD.
     
  9. chard

    chard
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks chaps, I must admit I took the on screen info at its word and watched Spy Game on the bedroon telly as I didn't expect 5.1.
    This sounds like mis-labelling, which is apparently still happening tonight, must check what my amp says....
     
  10. chard

    chard
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep, the problem is the info on Sky...just checked Tigerland, the amp says 5.1 but the info box says DS......
     
  11. paulefox

    paulefox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds
    Ratings:
    +43
    yes I have now found the same
    thanks for your help
     
  12. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is definetly a problem with the banners advertising movies actually broadcast in 5.1 as DS...
    Harry Potter and The Philosophers stone was broadcast in EX with the EX channel flagged as well. Put my Yammy 630 in Dolby EX mode when it was in the auto mode. I can't remember that happening before. Even the DVD for that particular movie isn't flagged EX...
     
  13. mps

    mps
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +52
    I was watching Vertical Limit Tonight on Premiere Wide and no 5.1 sound at all yet pro logic was okay.So there is something weird going on with their broadcast.Any one else encountered the same.

    Cheers.
     
  14. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +773
    Yes,
    I flicked over to moulen rouge (or what ever its called) last night on premier wide. It was silent for the first 10 minutes, then when the sound came back, it was only in DS.
    Its wierd because I'm sure previous screenings of the same film on premier wide were in DD.

    Something is definately going on.
     
  15. mps

    mps
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +52
    Also anybody noticed the auto widescreen switching facility is not available either.

    Cheers.
     
  16. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine flicks backwards and forwards from WS OK - you might need to check your settings. Could even be your SCART cable - pin 8 is the pin that carries the signal to tell the TV to change.

    Star Trk Generations was only in DS last night. I watched that before and it was defo in DD 5.1.

    However, if you go forward to Tuesday in the EPG, you will see that Premier wide is no longer available. There seems to be a fair share of decent movies in wide spread accross the rest of the movie channels...out of all of Tuesdays films on after 6 PM on Premier 1, 2 & 3, I think probably 80% of them are flagged DD...only time will tell.
     

Share This Page

Loading...