1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What freeview box??

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Gillsfan, Mar 10, 2005.

  1. Gillsfan

    Gillsfan
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    774
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I currently have a sagem freeview box which im upgrading as it only has 1 scart.

    What freeview boxes are available which are a reasonable price, preferrably with RGB pass through and work well in a low quality signal area.

    I saw the fusion FTR101 which can rewind 30 secs of live TV. I would love to have this option, but not pay as much for a PVR. Is this model any good? Are there any other ones with similar features?
     
  2. stevedster

    stevedster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Birkenhead
    Ratings:
    +41
    I am also looking at getting a new freeview box, comon peeps, any advice / opinions out there that can help us out :lease:
     
  3. lostinspace

    lostinspace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,572
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +272
    I recently bought a Sagem ID64 box because I wanted a 7 day EPG.I've had nothing but trouble from it.The first one was exchanged because the digital output was missing from the back-just a mini stereo jack was in place-so check it out.There are two versions of this model.It can't be put in the same vertical plane as the TV screen as there is so much picture breakup it's useless.So it's blutacked towards the rear of the TV to stop it falling off(the box is so light the weight of a decent scart lead drags it everywhere).Also,the mains adapter plug is such a poor fit that walking across the wooden floor can cause picture breakup as the power supply is interrupted.
    Even then the interference it puts on the analogue picture is immense-vertical lines etc.When I checked their website it said this was normal for this product(no mention in the instructions though).I'm not technically minded enough to understand what they said though.
    Maybe the one I've got isn't a typical experience,but the old Pace Ondigital box I replaced never gave me any trouble at all until ITV3 started locking the box up.
    No more Sagem products for me.
     
  4. rozzar

    rozzar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Braintree
    Ratings:
    +23
    if u don't want a recorder then Sony VTXS800 all the way. Fast access, good picture and sound quality, optical and analogue output (combined), Smartlink/TVlink/Qlink capability with dvdr/vcrs, 7day EPG, multibran remote. Plus, it never crashes. The only freeview box i'd get
     
  5. hockeyshooter

    hockeyshooter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    England, mate, England
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also endorse the Sony VTX-D800U. I'm in a relatively poor signal area, albeit with a new ariel, but the box works brilliantly. Has two SCARTs and I feed my widescreen Hitachi in RGB mode. Operates my TV better than the Thompson DTI 1000 did. Got mine from Amazon.

    Chris.
     
  6. sdc395

    sdc395
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I too have a Sony VTX-D800U and am very pleased with it. Two years of continuous service and never has it required a reboot.
     
  7. davidwatsonok

    davidwatsonok
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +136
    Does anyone know if there's a box on the market, or due fairly soon, with twin tuners, HDD recording and Top-up slot ? I've seen a few without the top-up, but I really don't see why they can't add it and will wait 'til someone does.
     
  8. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    The Pioneer is really good, its super fast and dosnt seem to suffer from crashing and freezing. Also due to a recent software update it also has a seven day EPG :)
     
  9. kismet110

    kismet110
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +389
    In defence of Sagem, last week I purchased the latest model, the IDT66. This comes with two SCARTS (1 RGB) and RF loop-through as well as a multi-format photo-reader slot but no CAM for TopupTV.

    Setup was a breeze, picked up all the TV & DAB stations no problem at all and the picture quality is good. EPG works OK although, as lostinspace mentioned, it is very light.

    The Sony product that others have mentioned does sound great, just thought I'd add my opinions if it helps.

    ALI
     
  10. Bernard Barnett

    Bernard Barnett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    The Netgem i-Player is an excellent box and has the advantage of component out (via scart).
     

Share This Page

Loading...