Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

What else do i need with tomtom s/w

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by rphul, Nov 25, 2004.

  1. rphul

    rphul
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I am thinking of buying tomtom software, I have a compaq ipaq 3660 with 64mb of memory and windows ce v3.0.9348 and nothing else (no jackets etc.).

    Can you guys tell me what will i need to buy in order to make this into a GPS system above and beyond the Tomtom software (still need to work out which version) ?

    Initial research seems to imply; jacket, memory, charger, holder etc.

    I am starting to think it may be cheaper to buy a complete kit.

    Thanks in advance

    Rav
     
  2. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +931
    I got tomtom with a bluetooth gps so I didnt need a jacket. but you will need one or the other. you will need some way of securing the ipaw in the car. you can get a combined charger/holder/sound. I've just got a holder as the bluetooth kit came with a charger to power both the ipaq and the gps. the gps is now hard wired into the car but I still use the cahrger for the ipaq for longer journeys.

    The whole of the uk will take up 108 mb so you'll need at least a 128mb card to hold all the maps. you can split them down into 16m chunks so it s not a nesecity just convenient.
     
  3. rphul

    rphul
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +0
    As i have a 3660 it won't take memory without a cf jacket. How much space would whoel of uk take up, and what sort of chunks does the download break into i.e south england, or counties
     
  4. rphul

    rphul
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. rphul

    rphul
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice