What DVD to partner Sanyo Z2?

Yandros

Prominent Member
Reaction score
Having added a Z2 to our home cinema setup, our trusty old Sony 725 is starting to look like the weak link.

We've just installled 14m of Belden 1694 component cable for the Z2 (Mark Grant special), so DVI etc would only be of interest for future proofing. I'm still a novice regarding the whole progressive scan lark, but I gather that I need to be looking for at least 575p output (is 720p possible over component?), and the player should have a better de-interlacer than the one onboard the Z2 to make it worthwhile.

Any recommendations?

I'm running a Denon 2200 via 12m of Mr Grants cable and find the picture spot on at 100" via Z2 onto a DRH screen.

I even had it running side by side with a HD935 back in January, but the picture looked way too "computerish" when compared to the "cinematic" (best description I can come up with) picture offered by the 2200.

Regards,

Chris L.

Thanks. Denon was definitely on my shortlist, and I think I'll now scrub the HD935. I was just reading a review of it yesterday and it looked almost too good to be true...maybe it is!

I'm projecting onto 96" diagonal incidentally and sitting about 1.5 screen widths away, so picture quality is pretty important.

I had the same issue with my 935 and the pio 757, i just preferred the 757 via component in the end, so sold the 935. Great dvd player for the money though its just that i preferred the 757.

Meant to say that i also have a Z2 and it was this pj that i was using as my display when making the comparison.

Yandros,

Don't get me wrong the picture from the HD935 (via DVI that is) was very good and especially when you consider the HD935 was circa £135 from panther online at the time, but it was somewhat artificial / not as natural looking as the 2200 picture.