1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What DVD Rom drive?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Dumfy, Nov 18, 2001.

  1. Dumfy

    Dumfy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    I'm about to have a go at building a PC for myself. Never done this
    before, so should be interesting!

    I'll be installing a DVD Rom drive and an ATI All-In Wonder graphics
    card and was wondering which would be the best DVD drive to go for and
    what suggestions anybody may have. I'll need the drive to be
    unlockable and region selectable as my DVD collection is from regions
    1,2 and 4. I also have some RCE discs that'll need to be bypassed.

    I believe the graphic card I'm using has a DVD player included and is
    also hardware supported. Can the regions be changed with this easily?

    I saw a good drive on www.overclockers.co.uk which was a Pioneer 106S.
    They have modified the player to be region free and the firmware allows
    use of RCE discs. They won't have any more in stock until late January.
    This would be the ideal solution for me, but don't really want to wait
    all that time. Are there any alternatives?

    Any help and suggestions will be gratefully received.

    Thanks in advance.

    :confused:
     
  2. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,924
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,658
    Look for alternative suppliers, not alternative drives.
    This is the drive to go for.
     
  3. Dumfy

    Dumfy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Spectre,

    thanks for the input and understand what you say. Do you know of any other suppliers that have the Pioneer modified for region & rce free? I guess it is a good player as it sold out quick.

    TIA
     
  4. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,924
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,658
    There is a link in the links database for a site with a region-free (with RCE) downloadable firmware update. If you can do this yourself - and it's pretty damn easy - then you can get the player from anywhere.
     
  5. Dumfy

    Dumfy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi everyone,

    Thanks again for the help, Spectre. I should've checked out the links
    page first. Apologies. Looks like there's some good info there.

    As you've probably all gathered, I'm new to this and still have a couple of
    questions. The link for the drive I'd like to buy (Pioneer A106) on
    Farenzo's website takes me to the official Pioneer page, so I guess I
    don't need to download one of their firmware versions as it won't be
    region/rce free. Do I download the patch it mentions instead and
    install that?

    Perhaps I'm being overly cautions as some of the reading can be quite scary -
    rendering drives inoperable by upgrading the firmware etc etc. I just want to make sure I'm gonna do it right as it seems I may not get a second chance.

    Also, the firmware upgrade will make the drive region AND rce free, but
    I'll need a software player and DVD Genie to change the regions with.
    However, my graphics card an ATI All-In-Wonder Radeon comes with
    hardware MPEG support ie it's a hardware player. Does this come
    multi-region or will I need some form of DVD Genie for this hardware type? Or will I still need a software player thereby making the hardware one redundant?
    Thanks again to all. This should hopefully sort it!



    ;)
     
  6. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    The radeon AIW does have HW DVD support, but its not a HW player. It requires a software player like any other card. When you use a software player such as the WinDVD or PowerDVD you can choose to have the HW support turned on or off. You will need to use DVD Genie to allow multiregion support.

    Hope this helps.

    Jeff
     
  7. Dumfy

    Dumfy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Jeff,

    Great help indeed. You learn a lot in these forums! At least, I have.

    Any particular software player rated as the best or is it pretty much system dependent?


    :confused:
     
  8. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,924
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,658
    That DVD firmware site :

    -Pioneer DVD-A06/106S (IDE 16X/40X) 1.09, 1.22 - List of changes
    (Known firmware : 1.08 / 1.09 / 1.14 / 1.22)
    Flash utilties for Windows are now available FUPW2K for win2K and WinXP, FUPW9X for Win9X.
    A patched region free version 1.22 RPC-1 is available. Patch by Mr.Kirill.
    RPC-2

    If I were you, I'd get the windows firmware update and try that. I'm 99% sure that will do the trick.
    I have heard that the Radeon player is really good with the Radeon Cards. Win DVD and Power DVD leapfrog eachother regularly in terms of features and quality. Currently I believe Power DVD 4 is the best.
     
  9. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    The ATI player that comes with the card is pretty good picture quality wise if you can get it to work properly. Cyberlink are about to release a new version of PowerDVD (PowerDVD XP) which I can confirm is very good. Otherwise WinDVD 2.6.4 is good if you can find it, the new 3.0 version concentrates on getting CPU utilisation down to a minimum and the picture quality isn't as good.

    Jeff
     
  10. Dumfy

    Dumfy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    gee.............you guys are really fast!!

    Thanks again, as ever.

    Hope I can return the compliment one day.


    :)
     
  11. Dumfy

    Dumfy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi All,

    Well, I give up. The Pioneer 106s (slot) is the model I want to go for but can't get one for love nor money. Big shortage of the required chips apparently as they're going into all the Microsoft X Boxes! Every stockist I've tried over the past two days is out of them and they don't expect anymore for at least 4 weeks!

    If you come across any suppliers please let me know.

    Thanks

    :mad:
     
  12. Dumfy

    Dumfy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi everyone,

    Managed to get myself a Pioneer 106S drive and have installed it.
    One question I have tho' is this.

    I'm using the player with an ATI All-In-Wonder Radeon and Creative SB Live! 5.1 soundcard. This feeds the Creative 5.1 5300 Inspire speaker package. In order to get the full benefit of 5.1 sound, do I need to connect the Pioneer player's Digital out socket to the SPDIF input socket on the soundcard? Or will the 5.1 sound be derived from the standard sound connection between the player and s/card.

    Many thanks.............:)
     
  13. Desmo

    Desmo
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,600
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Braintree, Essex.
    Ratings:
    +4,970
    No need to connect the extra wire. As far as I'm aware all the data is sent through the IDE cable.
     

Share This Page

Loading...