1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what does throw mean?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Gadjet, May 7, 2003.

1. Gadjet

Gadjet

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi,

As you can read from the question I am new to projector terminology.
    I am stuck between the sony HS10 and the new Hitachi plasma. I will ring sound and vision tomorrow to see if I can use a projecter for one week and if happy will buy or if not definately buy plasma. I doubt they will agree but if you dont ask....! I am so undecided what to buy it is driving me crazy.

Apreciate any help tremendously,

Phill:confused:

2. Fjorko

Fjorko

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +24
    Throw is the distance from your projector to the actual screen you are projecting onto.

the further you are away...the bigger the picture will be displayed..but...some models like the Panasonic PTAE300 has a short throw lens that will enable you to have a short distance between the projector and screen but still maintain a reasonable size in the projected picture.

P

3. LJT

LJT

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    What does throw! mean?
    Well it means you get so frustrated with your pJ's lamp-light fading rapidly, the deterioration due to dust and grime ingress, the fact your panny breaksdown with more unnerring regularity than an atomic clock.
    So dear gadjet. Throw means exactly that. You throw the bleedin thing through the nearest available window of opportunity!!!!!

4. Kramer

Kramer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Enough "projector bashing".

Buy your (small screen :p ) plasma & share your enlightening & uplifting posts with those in the TV forum.

:D

5. LJT

LJT

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0