1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What does this error mean?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Comer, Aug 13, 2003.

  1. Comer

    Comer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +82
    Since last night if I go onto the Net after about two minutes I get the error shown in the attached file. I’ve gotta be fast in posting this so if anyone knows what it means and what I can do about it, I’d grateful if u could let me know


    Thanks


    Conor
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Pack Dude

    Pack Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lost In Space
    Ratings:
    +98
  3. SeaneyC

    SeaneyC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +54
    Yeh looks like the worm that is doing the rounds, it's not that harmful. It's very easy to remove and you can read all about it here.
     
  4. bh

    bh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lost (no GPS here)!
    Ratings:
    +1
  5. Comer

    Comer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +82
    Thanks Guys

    That seems to have sorted me out. Where would we be without THE FORUM?:)



    Conor:smashin: :smashin: :smashin:
     
  6. Comer

    Comer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +82
    Well it seems that I was a little premature with my celebrations. I ran the program to remove the worm and it seemed to work perfectly but then last night when I went online the message above reappeared and the PC restarted. I couldn’t keep the PC going long enough to download the latest antivirus so I got it on my neighbours PC (P166 with 32K modem-it took an hour in all) and when I ran the antivirus it fount the infected file and deleted it. But the problem remains. I don’t mind reformatting my home PC as I backed up all my work last week but two of the PC’s at work have the problem and reformatting those would be a big deal

    To add to my tale of woe, my Sony HS10 started giving problems two nights ago at 300 hours.

    Oh yea, and my dog got hit by a car
     
  7. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    What is the direct link to MS for the XP fix as I have to email it to my parents?
     
  8. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,751
  9. bh

    bh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lost (no GPS here)!
    Ratings:
    +1
  10. baldbird

    baldbird
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This wound me up a treat on Tuesday night, every time i got close to sorting it out my pc shut down.
    If that's happening and u fon't have enough time to download the windows updates,
    control panel - network connections - rightclick on your connection - advanced - and set full firewall.
    That'll stop the virus coming on so u can download the updates. Then turn the windows firewall off as it restricts almost anything you want to download
     
  11. Comer

    Comer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +82
    Thanks for the replies. I just went to download the patch but one was for Windows PX 32bit version and the other was for Windows PX 64bit. How do I know which one I need


    Probably a very stupid question


    Conor
     
  12. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    i assumed i was looking 32 bit.... so thats what i have!

    Actually i havent seen this on my net pc, but my totally isolated hcpc has suffered..... but every time it did was when i was tweaking..... one of the running services which i tried to stop seemed to cause this to happen....... dounbt that hepls you but you never know!

    Ad
     
  13. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,751
    I would guess that 99.9% of people have the 32 bit version of Windows XP as the 64 bit version has been produced for 64 bit processors. So unless you have an Intel Itanium or an AMD Opteron then you will be 32 bit.
     
  14. Zone

    Zone
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2001
    Messages:
    6,526
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +2,114
    You'll have the 32bit version, the 64bit version is only available with XP pro
     
  15. Comer

    Comer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +82
    Thanks everybody

    At last, I think I'm sorted


    Conor
     
  16. sinbrad

    sinbrad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    For Baldbird and anyone else who cares to take his advice??

    The last thing you want to do is deactivate your firewall. The reason??? Quite simple, the virus (worm) that is causing your computer to reboot also allows remote users to control your computer and do things to it that you don't want them to ie change setup, format hard-drive etc etc etc. The only way to stop this is to enable firewall therefore not allowing them access to your computer. If you read into the description of this worm it does tell you this. Anyway I think that you will find that the firewall doesn't restrict your downloads all that much to worry about. I would rather worry about unwanted guests
     
  17. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,751
    EDIT
    Post deleted due to me not reading the rest of the thread properly :blush:
     
  18. GagHalfrunt

    GagHalfrunt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    North Cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +2

Share This Page

Loading...