What do you think these are for ????

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by alanrob, Jul 5, 2001.

  1. alanrob

    alanrob
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +235
    Having read through the specs for the new Sky+ Digibox I find the following very interesting -
    Twin digital tuners utilising two feeds from a quad LNB on existing minidish

    Does this mean we might get a fast internet connection using one (or maybe both) of the spare two feeds on the LNB ? Or might it be for anyone who requires two digiboxes ?

    Any ideas (or other possible thoughts) on this.
     
  2. KAO

    KAO
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Twin digital tuners...one for watching, one for recording...
     
  3. Jim Robson

    Jim Robson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Originally from the wonderful Granite City, Aberde
    Ratings:
    +1
    "Twin digital tuners utilising two feeds from a quad LNB on existing minidish"

    Yes, I get the twin tuners bit "Twin digital tuners...one for watching, one for recording..." but why the QUAD LNB? It looks as if there are two spare bits on the LNB? What are they for? As I'm no expert, have I missed something? Perhaps twin tuners need the 4 parts of a quad LNB?

    Regards

    Jim :D
     
  4. Banjaxe

    Banjaxe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    It's probably so they can connect up your old digibox using one of the spare LNBs and try to sell you another subscription...
     
  5. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,796
    I hope it is. I want to reuse my old box, but I will get a FTA card for it ;)

    I wonder if I will be able to use my existing larger dish? Or if I can have a larger dish under the new package?

    I have large trees in line of sight and the installer originally fitted the larger dish to improve reception.
     
  6. alanrob

    alanrob
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +235
    Fingers crossed that these extra two feeds on the Quad LNB will be used for high speed internet access.

    There is already a company (German I think) that runs internet access via Astra sats.
    It's very fast downloading, but it still requires a modem connection for uploads. Have a look at their web site - www.europeonline.com
     
  7. KAO

    KAO
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There was a company offered this in the UK too...uploads via modem, downloads via satellite. I recall seeing it on display in my local Tempo store. Last time I was in there (admittedly over a year ago) it had gone, so maybe there were not too many takers...
     

Share This Page

Loading...