1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What do you think of this Plasma

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by JonMace, Apr 21, 2005.

  1. JonMace

    JonMace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +207
  2. Dan L

    Dan L
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wotton-under-Edge
    Ratings:
    +110
    It's using an ALiS panel - I won't even pretend to know how to explain it...but there's plenty of in other threads about it!
     
  3. JonMace

    JonMace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +207
    I'll be using a HTPC does anyone know if I will be able to get 1:1 pixel mapping?
     
  4. Dan L

    Dan L
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wotton-under-Edge
    Ratings:
    +110
    Not sure - in fact just this morning I already posted a similar question :)

    I don't think its possible to get a square mapping, although PowerStrip does have an ALiS timing option with 1024x1024 resolution. The ALiS true res is not 1024x1024 though, it's something like 1024x512 with some trickery to make it 1024 on the vertical.

    Like I said, read some other threads ;)
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    1:1 pixel mapping is only possible if Fujitsu have implemented it....1024x1024 Alis panels use none square pixels to get 16:9 aspect (same as HD 42" screens 1024 x 768) tyhe screen is nice but black level i poor especially when compared toa panny glasses P50XHA40 ( 1366x768 true 16:9 res screen) for the price of the 42HHA yopu could buy a 50PHD7 or 50" MXE both will be better for HTPC use than the Fujitsu......IMO of course
     
  6. JonMace

    JonMace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +207
    Not if you have family that work for Fujitsu. but if i cannot use it with HTPC then I'm not inerested
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    ah.......you can use it for HTPC but have a good read of the manual first see what it supports on DVi...if you can buy one at a good enough rate then have a play and sell it.... look for what people have achieved with Hitachi screens and HTPC as Hitachi use same glass... (a P50XHA40 is ideal for HTPC BTW)
     

Share This Page

Loading...