What do you set your watch time by ?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Steve N, Mar 7, 2013.

  1. Steve N

    Steve N
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +2,385
    I had my watch serviced a few weeks ago and want to set it accurately so I can monitor it.

    Trouble is there is a difference between different points of reference.

    For example: I'm currently setting it using a GMT Time website.
    But - This is several seconds different to Sky News clock. Also - HD channels transmission are a few seconds behind SD channels.

    Would there be a lag using the internet site ?
     
  2. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,038
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,374
    I use the good old speaking clock (dial 123)
    It's currently Claire Balding doing a comic relief version.
     
  3. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    65,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +46,005
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013
  4. DPinBucks

    DPinBucks
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6,404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Burnham, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +1,959
    Use a radio clock, if you have one. If not, go to a store which sells them and find a demo.

    The Greenwich time signal on analogue radio is accurate (digital lags a bit).
     
  5. Goooner

    Goooner
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    38,932
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +17,521
    I use the Atomic Clock Deluxe app on my iPhone
     
  6. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    24,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +12,795
    No need, my watch picks up the GMT radio signal :smashin:
     
  7. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    65,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +46,005
    Best answer yet :D
     
  8. Steve N

    Steve N
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +2,385
  9. blue max

    blue max
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12,938
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4,308
    My bowels. Regular as.
     
  10. tvbox

    tvbox
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,716
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Prestwich, Manchester
    Ratings:
    +813
    A normal wall clock, just like the other 99.9% of the population who aren't obsessed with accuracy.

    More often than not I set my watch fast by a minute or two so I'm not late for anything- for some reason it drives others crazy :rolleyes:
     
  11. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    12,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +3,035
    The only time I need to bother about the exact time is for the train. So my watch is set to their clock.
     
  12. shoestring25

    shoestring25
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +806
    clocking in machine at work
     
  13. FZR400RRSP

    FZR400RRSP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    32,038
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +10,374
    And how do you know that wall clock is right?
    Wanting your watch reasonably accurate is hardly being "obsessed"
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013
  14. PocketBunny

    PocketBunny
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,283
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    -
    Ratings:
    +680
    I set my watch by the time at Waterloo Station for obvious reasons :D
     
  15. imightbewrong

    imightbewrong
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    53,743
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Romford-ish
    Ratings:
    +34,526
    Are they all the same? :D At one of my stations there are at least two different times on different clocks :)
     
  16. Geordie Jester

    Geordie Jester
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +156
  17. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    23,893
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +13,535
    Bookmarked! :thumbsup:
     
  18. wongataa

    wongataa
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,604
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +552
    My watch sets itself from the time signal.
     
  19. imightbewrong

    imightbewrong
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    53,743
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Romford-ish
    Ratings:
    +34,526
    No matter what time I set it to, it's never the same time as the people that organised the meeting :mad:
     
  20. Dony

    Dony
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    18,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    near Newry, Co. Down
    Ratings:
    +11,168
    I had to think about this one....I used to use Ceefax, so I guess I haven't needed to set my watch since it's demise.
     
  21. pandemic

    pandemic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,167
    If I need to be very accurate (and pedantic), I set up an NTP daemon and feed it information from a GPS (time from the satellite and the 1PPS onboard) then assign a couple of feeds from some ntp pool servers. That usually gets me the time accurate to a few nanoseconds.
     
  22. Graham27

    Graham27
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St. Helier, Jersey
    Ratings:
    +976
    Christ, we're a geeky lot :D

    From where I'm currently sitting, I can see the time on my DVD recorder, cooker, microwave, air con, phone, iPod, iPad, and watch.

    Other than the Apple stuff, everything else is at different times. Oh well, at least my OCD must be getting better :D
     
  23. MikeTV

    MikeTV
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,782
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ealing, London
    Ratings:
    +842
    Most Windows PC's will synchronise time to "time.windows.com" by default, and so should be accurate to within a second or two, which is good enough for me. It's time I went to bed.
     
  24. mozilla314

    mozilla314
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +10
    Here, in the States, TV shows start on the exact second,
    so all digital cable boxes have the World Clock time.
     
  25. CooperUK

    CooperUK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +308
    Central clock that rings the school bells for lessons at work. Although it doesn't always correspond with time in the 'real world'.
     
  26. phil t

    phil t
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hook, Chessington, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +319
    I used to use one of the two atomic clocks we had at work, but since leaving HMs employment, I have a cheap (ish) Casio wave ceptor (sets itself every night) which I wear for work and I set my Tissot from that!

    Sad, but true.
     
  27. Hitby

    Hitby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +546
  28. Ivor the Engine

    Ivor the Engine
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,907
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Maidstonia
    Ratings:
    +220
    I use this, but automatic watches have a mind of their own.
     
  29. blackrod

    blackrod
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +307
    I have my mobile to set to pick up the local network time so I set my watch off that knowing it is as accurate as it ever needs to be.
     
  30. sniffer66

    sniffer66
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    9,956
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,717
    The Sky box normally, its accurate enough for me
     

Share This Page

Loading...