• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

What do more expensive speakers offer over their less expensive counterparts?

Harkon321

In laymans terms if possible.

Currently have a monitor audio BX centre, BX2s and BXFX surrounds. These are 95% + for film on a 92" screen.

As I'm completely new to the world of AV and have very quickly got the bug. My speakers were bought based on the cash I had available on a budget which I'd already gone well over. (Original speakers were 4ohm wouldn't work with new avr).

So what does a £500 centre do that a £150 doesn't do as well? What do £1000+ L&R offer that their £250 counterparts don't?

indus

Distinguished Member
In laymans terms if possible.

Currently have a monitor audio BX centre, BX2s and BXFX surrounds. These are 95% + for film on a 92" screen.

As I'm completely new to the world of AV and have very quickly got the bug. My speakers were bought based on the cash I had available on a budget which I'd already gone well over. (Original speakers were 4ohm wouldn't work with new avr).

So what does a £500 centre do that a £150 doesn't do as well? What do £1000+ L&R offer that their £250 counterparts don't?

In a word they sound much better.

I've owned MA silver, gold and platinums. Everything sounds better the further you go up the tree (assuming your other electronics can keep up).

BlueWizard

Distinguished Member
What do you mean by "These are 95%.." - 95% of what?

How big is the room? (dimensions)

The Monitor Audio Bronze are pretty nice speakers in their price range, and should sound pretty good.