1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What do i do with 4 scarts and a Plamsa ?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Darbyweb, Mar 26, 2003.

  1. Darbyweb

    Darbyweb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    My PDP-433MXE is on the way - e.t.a next week :)

    Im now getting into uncharted waters here....

    I have Video, DVDr, Sky, CCTV, XBOX, all with Scart outputs - whats the best solution to connect this lot together, and i guess after that i need one of John Sims convertors of some type.

    Hope that makes sense



    Thanks



    Dean.
     
  2. JamesTapp

    JamesTapp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dean,

    Separate your Scarts outputs into two:

    Those devices that can output RGB and those that can only output composite.

    RGB output

    DVDR, Sky, XBOX (with the right cable)

    Composite

    VCR and probably CCTV.


    If you have Scarts in and out use them to daisy chain, otherwise you need a switchbox. The RGB sources can go into a JS box for conversion. The composite sources go direct to the plasma composite input.
     
  3. bxd

    bxd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +136
    Hi,

    With the right (Hi Res) cables the X-box can output component which can go directly into the projector. Similarly, the dvd player, if it has a component output.

    Brian
     
  4. General Panic

    General Panic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    Hi BXD
    Quick follow up on your reply. X-Box outputs to Component? Do you know where such a cable can be got? At the mo my X-box is connected to LG plasma via the Advanced Scart lead.
    Thanks
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Dean you could buy a Quattro or Quintro remote switch box and then a converter on the output to feed the plasma.
    I might be wrong but i thought only US XBOX's could do component:confused: :confused: :confused:
    Info will be in the gaming forum for sure!
     
  6. Darbyweb

    Darbyweb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Horny

    Yep i think i'm going to go down the Quintro route - i couldn't see from the website, but i guess it has RGB out so will go into JS's RGB to Plasma thang...



    Dean.
     
  7. JamesTapp

    JamesTapp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dean,

    Any sources that do not output RGB will not work using the Quattro. Almost definitely your VCR and CCTV will give you no signal if you feed them through the JS Box.

    [EDIT] This is because the Quintro / Quattro boxes are switches, and do not upconvert the sources to RGB. Even switches that say that they support RGB only output RGB if that is what the input device feeds it.

    James
     
  8. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    The best way to use the Quintro is to stick everything into it - RGB devices set to RGB and everything else (VCR, CCTV) on composite video.

    Use the Scart output of the Quintro to go through a converter (sometimes there are issues with SyncBlasters and Quintro's although v. rarely - I would still go with a JS box) and the TV 2 phono output to send a composite signal up to the projector.

    To watch RGB devices flick the plasma to RGB, to watch composite devices flick the plasma to AV!
     
  9. Darbyweb

    Darbyweb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Liam - thats me sorted then :)


    Dean.
     
  10. symanski

    symanski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +8
    Darbyweb,
    Liam has you sorted.

    As an alternative you could try what I've got. The XBox (I only recommend the Microsoft Advanced SCART lead) connected to Sky + which is then connected to my DVD recorder, all via RGB SCARTS. These then go to an RGB to Plasma VGA unit, but could easily be and RGB to Component converter. Since each are connected in line, I don't need any extra switch boxes.

    Normally, the DVD recorder is switched off, but if one wishes to watch a DVD simply switch it on. Similarly if a quick blast of Halo is required. Switching on the XBox and Sky will pass this through.

    All the best,

    Dr John Sim.
     
  11. Darbyweb

    Darbyweb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks John

    Your RGB to Plasma, and leads arrived yesterday :) - Top service....

    So i have all the components, all i need now is the Plasma and i'm away :)

    By the way does the advanced scart for the Xbox have the Toslink out for 5.1 ??


    Dean.
     

Share This Page

Loading...