1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What connections etc to transfer footage onto PC ?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Merlin, Apr 11, 2004.

1. Merlin

Merlin
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    Complete newbie at this and seeking appropriate guidance (idiot proof ) from some kind soul who remembers what it was like !
    Approaching I hope my goal of being able to convert S-VHS, VHS, Betamax and Hi8 footage from VCR/camcorder onto DVD.

MY SETUP:-
    I have Pentium 3.2Ghz 2Gb ram Pc with WinXPhome, with Plextor DVD writer and Teac DVD reader. 20Gb partition for video creation on 2nd HD.
    Geforce FX5950 ultra with Svideo in socket
    Audigy2 Platinum with choice of red/white phono in, or firewire in
    Also a WinTVgo by Hauppauge model 607 (yellow video phono sckt and 3.5mm jplug sound in and out)

Software I have is Adobe Premiere 6.5

VCR is an S-VHS model with Svideo out sckt, also scart out and obviously coax out. (and inputs phonos yel/red/white and also Svideo on front)

I gather that the best way to convert Hi8 analog to digital is to borrow a Hi8 camcorder (mine's dead) and plumb it into the MiniDV Panasonic MX8 I have which does the conversion 'on the fly'.
    This MX8 has :-
    a 3.5mm sckt called AVin/out Phones.
    Another called D.Still Picture.
    An Svideo in/out.
    An 8 pin square with rounded side sckt called Digital (to USB)/EDIT(mini) ( I use to plumb into usb PC and transfer stills from camcorder)
    A square sckt called DV which takes a firewire lead.

MY QUESTIONS:
    Just what do I do to convert the aforementioned footage and record it as high quality onto DVD ?
    ...and how best to plumb in the VCR and the camcorders