1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What connection will give me the best picture?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by kenlong69, Nov 20, 2003.

  1. kenlong69

    kenlong69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doha
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hey all,

    I currently have the setup in my sig running along smoothely.

    I would however like to be sure I am getting the best picture possible.

    I currently have the DVD player connected via an S-Video cable.

    Would I get a better picture if I got a decent SCART lead and connected them via RGB composite?

    The details of the dvd plater are herE:
    http://www.techtronics.com/uk/shop/50-pioneer-dv-717-multi-region-dvd-player.html

    The details of the tv are here:
    http://www.techtronics.com/uk/shop/862-sony-kv-32fx65-crt-widescreen-tv.html


    Cheers for any help!!!
    Ken
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,559
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +256
    RGB should be better than S-video, in theory.

    Steve
     
  3. kenlong69

    kenlong69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doha
    Ratings:
    +6
  4. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,559
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +256
    Hi Ken,

    Either of those would be fine. You pays your money... I'm sure your Sony will produce a great RGB picture.

    Steve
     
  5. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    I would try both RGB and SVHS on the Sony just to make sure!
     
  6. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    RGB is way better than SVideo on Sony TVs
     
  7. kenlong69

    kenlong69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doha
    Ratings:
    +6
    Ok guys...

    I just tore evrything apart and compared S-video with an old cheapy SCART... WOW , it's actually heaps better!

    Now I have another problem:

    I have digital telly and a tivo whick also look HEAPS better in RGB... BUT ... I only have 1 RGB input on the telly!

    AAAH!

    Is there a way I can get a splitter or something so they can share it?

    Or is there a more sophisticated way to do this?

    Cheers,
    Ken
     
  8. kelvin

    kelvin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Down South... (Bournemouth)
    Ratings:
    +45
    Does the Tivo not allow you to daisy chain an RGB signal through it? I may be wrong but I seem to recall reading this somewhere... If this is the case, just go:-

    Set Top Box ---> Tivo ---> AV1 :)

    As a side note, you may find the sticky at the top of this forum interesting reading re. What is the "best" connection :)

    K.
     
  9. kenlong69

    kenlong69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doha
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hey kelvin!

    Cheers for that, but that's what I have done. BUT I need to connect my DVD player as well as the Tivo to my TV. The DVD player doesn't suppose Daisy chaining.

    I went to js-electronics and they said they are wroking on soemthing that may work.

    I'd prefer to get something sooon though!

    Cheers,
    Ken
     
  10. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,845
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +828
    If you need to connect more components than you have Scart sockets to accommodate, go here and buy a Scart switching box. I believe they can handle RGB, S-video and composite, so you should be able to do what you want.

    Cheers!
     
  11. kelvin

    kelvin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Down South... (Bournemouth)
    Ratings:
    +45
    Apologies, I forgot to factor the DVD into my equation...:blush:

    I'm sure there definitely is something out there - as mjcairney suggests, take a look at Maplin - I'm certain you'll find some kind of scart switching device there...

    Best of luck :)

    K.
     
  12. kenlong69

    kenlong69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doha
    Ratings:
    +6
    No worries Kelvin! I probably didn't explain it very well :(

    mjcairney - It doesn't say on the Maplins site if they support RGB. Bsically I now see the great difference and don't want a cheapish component to degrade it.

    In my experience 'splitters' ted to degrade the signal.

    Has anyone used one of these Maplin beauties and could confirm whether they will work without degrading performance?

    Cheers,
    Ken
     
  13. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
  14. kenlong69

    kenlong69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doha
    Ratings:
    +6
    GrahamC - AWESOME! That'll do!

    Thanks to all for your advice!!! I'll report back once I have recieved this beauty and set it up!

    Ken
     
  15. Kevo

    Kevo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    5,354
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +144
    Don't know if I'm too late but you can buy the same thing from HERE , considerably cheaper.

    That's where I bought mine from.
     
  16. kenlong69

    kenlong69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doha
    Ratings:
    +6
    Cheer Kevo!

    Thanks for the heads up but I only need a 2 way connector, I bought the auto-switching one for £34 delivered.

    Considering how much I've sunk into this system, £34 is pretty negligable! Hahaha!

    Ken
     

Share This Page

Loading...