What can attach to NAS and output to TV and HIFI?

Drummond

Standard Member
Hello,

I'm not really sure where to post as I am just starting out.

There are a couple of us and we each have out own Windows laptop.

I would like to stick a hard drive somewhere both of us can access wirelessly on our laptops.

I would also like the files on that hard drive (video, audio & photos) to be able to be played on the TV and a Hifi.

I think I will need some kind of 'server' or 'streamer' to plug the hard drive into to make it accessible to the laptops but that device must also have output for connection to the hifi and the TV (which are next to each other).

One problem I can see with that is that how would I browse the music files on the hard drive and get them to play on a hifi that is attached to the streamer?

If I view the files on the laptop and play them then the sound is going to come out the laptop which is not what I want as its not attached to the hifi.

Would I have to get something like the iPort Express to send it back to the amp?

Would I need a pretty hefty Wifi router to support all these connections and traffic?

How do you guys manage your setups?

Thanks!

Bit like this but output to TV too:

Last edited:

next010

Distinguished Member
Out of the box for everything a Tvix Slim S1 would do that (click feature tab to see details).
* Can take an internal HDD and share it out over the network
* Has a web remote that works with smartphones and web browsers (just type in IP of media player into PC web browser) this will make the media player play those files.

Unless the videos are rather low resolution playing on your PC from the HDD in the media player isnt that great an idea over wireless, wired really needed for video but music and pictures should be fine.

Last edited:

Drummond

Standard Member
Thanks, that looks good.

I do have an ipod touch which it looks like I could use as a remote.

Would the Western Digital WD TV Live do what I want?