• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

What budget floorstanders?

H

hardtofollow

Hi,

I'm fairly new to this game and just got my first system set up. Got Cambridge Audio Azur 640 A and 640 C V2 and Pacific interconnect, and a pair of MS 902i speakers with some gale speaker stands. The room i've got is fairly big though and I'd quite like to get some floorstanders and use the 902i as satellites.

what would you suggest? I can probably stretch to £400 but would prefer to keep it under £300.

thanks for reading,

stu

happyhomer

If you're happy with the sound that you get from the 902i's, then I'd strongly recommend the MS906i's. The rrp is £350, but if you search around you should be able to get them for less. I replaced my 902's with 906's and the improvement was a lot more than I expected.

H

hardtofollow

I am happy with the 902i's but i did get them in the first place because they came in a package from RS so it wasn't as if i chose them above any other speaker. Is it very important to stay with the same brand and series of speakers?

If i got a pair of AE Evo 3's or Mission M35's would they not 'match up' with the rest of the system. sorry if these questions are amateurish, im on a steep learning curve!

G

gallium

Another one to try would be the smaller Dali Suites (bit more expensive than the MS 906 though) or you could try the cheaper Dali Concept 6s which are pretty good bang for buck.

I still have my MS 906s and for the money, the'ye one of the better floorstanders out there.

happyhomer