• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

What av reciever with £250 budget

Telstar

Standard Member
Hello everyone, I have around £250.00 to spend on a AV reciever. I am new to the AV market and would like your honest opinions on the AV's i have narrowed down too.

My set up i have that this AV will power is as follows: Samsung 40" series 6 roseblack lcd tv.

I am still looking for a Blu-ray player.

I have just bought some KEF Q65's and i will also use the sub and speakers from my Samsung ht-x710 system.

Here are some av's i have been looking at:

SONY STRDH800

PIONEER VSX420 HOME CINEMA RECEIVER

RX-V565BL yamaha

ONKYO TX-SR308 Black

I hope this helps, wasn't sure if it was good practice to give links.

Thank you for looking

Terry

Passingbat

Distinguished Member
You will need to check the impeadance of your speakers from the Samsung ht-x710 system system to see if they can be used.

If they are below 4 ohms, they should not be used. If they are 6 ohms, you should be fine with all the above amps. If they are 4 ohms, you may be Ok with the Onkyo as some of their previous models could run 4 ohm speakers.

Also, the sub on that system may be passive, wheras AV amps need an active (amplified sub).

Of the amps you list, the Yamaha is a level above the other two. They are similarly priced as the other two are brand new models, which you pay a price premium for.

The Pioneer amp would require a blueray player that decodes HD audio and sends it to the amp as LPCM. Any new 'known' branded BR player will do that, but personally, I think you're better, flexibility wise, with an amp that will decode bitstreamed HD audio from the blueray player, which the Yamaha 565 and Onkyo 308 do.